We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofra - Covent Garden

Sofra - Covent Garden
36 Tavistock Street, London WC2E 7PB, England (Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square)
(020) 7240 3773
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,913 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were given a flyer in Covent Garden for their lunch menu at £5 per person. Great choice of food options given so we agreed to give it a go.

The food was lovely. Small portions which was just enough to give you that nice full feeling, rather than pile it high and scoff it down and forgetting what tasty food really is.

We all were pleasantly surprised and not really expecting much for £5 each but it was really nice food.

Definitely recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    131
    59
    34
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Food cold, table near door cold and asked to move, service poor and the bill was wrong twice. Four of us, and we would never go back again to this or any in their chain. One out of ten.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We will not rush back!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We visited the Sofra for dinner after a fantastic time at the theatre, we had pre-booked the evening before to ensure we could get a table. Upon arrival we where shown upstairs to the roof garden where there was some confusion over which table to put us on followed. I did remind them that we had booked but this seemed to make little difference.

We decided on the healthy menu which seems to offer a good selection of starters and some tasty sounding main courses. We did attempt to ask the waiter for some guidance however I might has well closed my eyes and took a stab in the dark for all the help he was. Oh by the way the healthy menu just means smaller portions not healthier food.

Our starters arrived very quickly, which where tasty however lacked any substance, luckily a basket on bread was at hand to bulk up the sloppy starters.

The main course suddenly arrived before the starters had been cleared so they preceded to struggle to squeeze both mains and starters on our table, then they removed our starter plates and cutlery leaving us nothing to eat with, however these where soon replaced.

The food was very tasty, however we felt the service was very poor especially considering they automatically add a 12% service charge to the bill, meaning they don't have to work to provide good service, which was very evident.

To top our evening off we where asked to move tables to allow a larger party to be seated, we found this very rude especially considering we had booked in advance.

We will not be going back, sorry Sofra!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere, decent food but service was a let down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a group dinner. I have been to the excellent Ozer before which had now relocated so we thought to try here. Not the same experience however. Service was very slow and after numerous requests, about 40 min later we got some bread on the table...and after requesting again we got humous. As a pregnant lady I was ravenous by then! The food was pleasant although portions small. The best party was the pretty 'conservatory' setting and atmosphere. The sister restaurant Ozer well be sorely missed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Appalling service when food is good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I had the Healthy Menu option at £15 each. We found the food was adequate to good tasting starters and very good mains. Our young waiter was delightful, however and unfortunately, the restaurant was let down by the elderly waiter who made inappropriate, misogynistic comments to my friend and alternated between being rude or ignoring me. It ruined an otherwise lovely night and was not the behaviour I'd ever expect from staff in a restaurant. I'd not recommend this restaurant based on this experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sofra - Covent Garden also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Sofra - Covent Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofra - Covent Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.