We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Black book :-)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smiths of Smithfield

Smiths of Smithfield
67 - 77 Charterhouse Street, London EC1M 6HJ, England (City of London)
+44 20 7251 7950
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Smiths of Smithfield is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,661 of 16,892 restaurants in London
Price range: $14 - $134
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: City of London
Description: Smiths of Smithfield is a behemoth of a venue with four floors of a converted warehouse providing four distinct offerings. The Ground Floor Cafe is an open plan industrial space famous for top London breakfasts and the classic SOS burger. The First Floor Cocktail Bar and offers bespoke SOS and classic cocktails along with simple sharing plates and our 2 Private Dining Rooms. The 2nd Floor Dining Room with a focus on beef and meat reflecting smithfields meat market - located opposite, with an emphasis on provenance of the dishes and British food at its best. The Top Floor Restaurant and Terrace offers Rare Breed Meat cooked to perfection with stunning views across the city.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Little Black book :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I signed up to their Little Black Book scheme and got an email thanking me and offering me a free bottle of wine if I dined before the end of January ! Great welcome! As I was working in London the following week - myself and a colleague took advantage! Helpful and friendly staff right from the cvloakroom lady to the waitress and the manager :-)
Food was delicious - Indian spiced chicken was gorgeous and being healthy - we shared a fresh fruit platter with sorbet. We were encouraged to l,eave comments " good or bad please" on the blackboards on the floor below. great visit, lovely food, would definitely return!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    115
    175
    77
    56
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“50th birthday star..........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Ate at Smiths for a friends 50th birthday on thursday night. Was a bit put off by some of the latest reviews , so sat down on the top floor with some background worries. Well I got to say that the evening from start to finish was a huge sucess. The food (all of it , not a duff dish in sight) was fantastic, the serving staff a joy ( the young lady who served us was charming,funny and knowledgable) and an all round great celebration of my friends 50th year. The highlights, the chateaubriand was the star of the show, closely followed by the confit duck. My partener who had the lamb , which was good , was missing out on some fastastic beef, I had the ribeye which was cooked and presented well .All in all a great night out would recommed

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie M, Guest Relations Manager at Smiths of Smithfield, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks for your review Kieran, delighted that you enjoyed your friends 50th with us and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food remains ok, just don't expect great (or prompt) service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Have eaten here a few times a year for several years. The food quality is still decent, but the last few visits have resulted in slow and generally poor service. They need to sort their front of house out.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie M, Guest Relations Manager at Smiths of Smithfield, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, we have taken your comments on board and will be reviewing all service and team standards to ensure that all of our customers receive a high level of service every time they visit.

I hope you can join us again soon and try out our top floor or new 2nd floor cocktail and lounge bar opening at the end of the month.

Many thanks,
Natalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mediocre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Food was poor for the price it was, ordered the South Devon Cote de Boeuf for two and was advised by the waitress to order something else as "this would take too long to cook" Really?!!
Béarnaise sauce was horrible and the steak we were encouraged to order was basic at best!

Sort out your food and staff! Really disappointing :(

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie M, Guest Relations Manager at Smiths of Smithfield, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your Cote de Boeuf, this is one of our most popular dishes and we hope that everyone enjoys it. We are more than happy to change or amend dishes when dining with us so please do let us know in the restaurant next time as we would hate for you to leave without enjoying every aspect of your time with us.

I do hope that you pay us a visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good meaty portions with warehouse flair!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Came on a Sautrfay- fairly relaxed atmosphere- busy compared to other restaurants around it so felt right being in this one.
Food was under- seasoned but good portions and tasty.
Good tunes and puds. Felt trendy yet friendly.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smiths of Smithfield also viewed

London, England
 

Been to Smiths of Smithfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smiths of Smithfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.