We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This has Closed! ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rebato's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rebato's
169 South Lambeth Rd. | Stockwell, London SW8 1XW, England
(020)-7735-6388
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $39
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This has Closed! ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Sadly after decades of being a high spot of South Lambeth Rd, things have moved along and so had Rebatos. They do outside catering I believe. There are loads of other restaurants close by including the excellent Canton Arms / modern British / simple fresh in old pub.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    3
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Thoroughly genuine old fashioned Spanish restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Victorian plaster mouldings on the ceiling are samples of the mouldings produced in in this building before Rebato's took it over. The splendid floor tiles and low lighting in the bar, together with the welcoming staff make this a place for regulars. There is nothing pretentious - just good honest Spanish cooking and an excellent wine list, reasonably priced. Drop in for a quick bite of lunch in the bar, or go in a crowd for a session of tapas, or more substantial food, in the bright and airy restaurant at the back. Do not be put off by the apparent gloom as you look through the door from the street - this is Spain, where bright lights are avoided. If you fall in with the atmosphere this will become a home from home. This is an institution which must be preserved.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Establishment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

After reading various reviews of the joint I took the plunge and booked a table at Rebatos...When we got there we were taken to the main restaurant at the back (a smaller tapas bar at the front) which had good decor and looked inviting. The service we had from the waiters was excellent...attentive and gave good advice when I wanted it.
The Food was great...starters were lovely and teh sea bass I had for main was lush...my girlfriend had the lamb cutlets and according to her they were cooked to perfection.
Had a very tasty bottle of Rioja to wash the food down with.
The atmosphere in the restaurant certainly picked up when the tables kept filling up.
Would certainly recommend this joint and will most certainly be heading back there for munch

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An authentic taste of Spain on the South Lambeth Road!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Hiding behind an unremarkable exterior, Rebato's is a charming, old-fashioned Spanish restaurant that has been a Stockwell neighbourhood favourite for decades. It once made the national headlines when an MI5 agent left Rebato's after an evening drinking in the tapas bar, and left a laptop containing highly confidential files in the taxi he took home! At the front of house is the lively tapas bar, and locals often never make it past here - as you can easily make a hearty meal out of the huge variety of authentic tapas on offer. The attractive restaurant beyond has a menu laden with Spanish classics - and knowledgeable, mature Spanish waiters who genuinely care about your dining experience. Whether it's a romantic meal for two - or a big family celebration, Rebato's is the perfect venue for a relaxed, satisfying meal beginning with tapas and ending with something from the always impressive sweet trolley!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Magnifico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Took my wife, her mum and stepfather to Rebato's and was not disappointed. Not our first time as a couple - we have taken friends and family back time and again. And every single visit we have enjoyed exceptional food and hospitality.
We sat in the more atmospheric bar area and ordered a multitude of tapas dishes from the main and specials menus - staples like patatas lucas, albondigas and lentejas as well as specials beetroot, orange & pine nuts and aubergine chips in honey.
All tasted fantastic as per usual, and such a pleasure to be served by waiters who know what they are doing - real pros.
Have come back many times and will continue to do so as long as we live in London. Worth a special trip wherever you are in town and good value to boot.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rebato's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rebato's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.