We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual vegetarian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rasa N16

Rasa N16
55, Stoke Newington Church Street, London N16 0AR, England (East End / East London)
+44 20 7249 0344
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,111 of 17,039 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: East End / East London
Description: Welcome to Rasa, an award-winning chain of restaurants bringing the taste of authentic, home-cooked southern Indian food to the UK The Name: Rasa is a Sanskrit word that has a wonderful wealth of meaning. It represents taste, flavour,affection, pleasure, delight, happiness, charm, sentiment, pathos, beauty and essence. At Rasa, you will find all this and more The Experience: At Rasa, our food is inspired by the authentic home cooking of beautiful, spice-rich Kerala, where all our chefs are trained. Food is our passion, prepared for you always with devotion, love, and the finest ingredients
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unusual vegetarian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Excellent choice, very affordable and a huge range of interesting southern Indian (Keralan) dishes. The banquet is an affordable and extremely filling way to try a range of things, or try a mango curry with lemon rice. Delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    39
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chateauneuf de Grasse, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not your average Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Authentic and delicious south Indian vegetarian cooking at a very reasonable price. Even the meat-eaters like me left the meal happy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Can't be bettered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

There are pure veg, fish and meat versions of this restaurant. We've only eaten at the vegetarian one, but over 15 years I can honestly say I've never been disappointed with a meal here.
Usually have the 'Feast' - an opportunity to try a great variety of items - and they're usually happy to include any of your own favourites in there as a special request. We cook from the Rasa recipe book every week, but still return to the restaurant for the 'real thing', with friendly service and great atmosphere.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
“Perhaps I visited on a bad day”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I read an article online which put Rasa in Stoke Newington in the Top five South Indian restaurants in London. I had previously visited anotehr branch just off Oxford St a few months ago, which also had meat dishes and really enjoyed it. The article said the one in Stoke Newington which is a vegetarian only restaurant is the best of the small chain of Rasa restaurants. So we booked and went yesterday for dinner. It was a journey across the river into scary north London for us so we were really looking forward to the food.

The menu opens with a fixed 4 course dinner which promises a variety of dishes which aren't listed. We were happy for a top five restaurant to surprise us. I did glance through the rest of the menu and saw a number of dishes which I would have chosen separately if we hadn't gone for the platter.

Unfortunately, not one of the dishes I would have ordered turned up. But we were still happy to give the rest a try. First course was a basket of poppadums and other crispy fried snacks with chutneys. The chutneys were fresh and tasty except for the garlic one which must have come straight out of a Patak's jar. The poppadoms and other fried accompaniments were bland and didn't taste fresh. Everything was tepid. Poppadoms should come out slightly warm.

The next course of starters consisted of a fried and battered potato cake, one slice of fried and battered aubergine and one slice of fried battered fried banana. Altogether too much batter for me. An idli or something not fried would have given the starters some variety. As it was we didn't eat half of the starters.

Both of the first two courses of fried food over, we were looking forward to something different in the main course. We were brought a dish each of - aubergine, banana and mango, mixed vegetable and black eyed peas. Along with a chapati and some rice. The aubergine was in a strange yoghurt sauce which tasted like it had gone off. The banana and mango was more like a savoury milkshake, the black eyed beans had no distinguishable flavour and tasted like they had been poured straight out of the tin onto the dish. The vegetable curry was palatable but nothing to shout about.

We were given a small bowl of what looked like rice pudding at the end by which time neither of us was in a mood to eat.

Several dishes went back to the kitchen untouched and others only half eaten, but no one came out to ask why.

We should have ordered individual items from the menu instead of trusting the kitchen to pull together a menu. We strongly felt that the dishes which weren't popular or were easy to warm up were passed off to us. It was a real disappointment and a long way to travel home afterwards and we had to stop off to get a take away for dinner as we had hardly eaten anything.

I will still return to the Rasa in Oxford St, but won't travel all the way to Stoke Newington for this paticular one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious vegetarian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We ate at Rasa for my husband's birthday - there were about 15 of us and we had the feast menu where you get to try most things on the menu. The food was lovely, a great choice of interesting dishes and not expensive. The staff were lovely and even made my husband a special desert with a candle when they realised it was his birthday. Would definitely recommend this place!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rasa N16 also viewed

London, England
 

Been to Rasa N16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rasa N16, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.