We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Indian restaurants in London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rasa N16

Rasa N16
55, Stoke Newington Church Street, London N16 0AR, England (East End / East London)
+44 20 7249 0344
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #903 of 17,940 Restaurants in London
Price range: $13 - $31
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: East End / East London
Description: Welcome to Rasa, an award-winning chain of restaurants bringing the taste of authentic, home-cooked southern Indian food to the UK The Name: Rasa is a Sanskrit word that has a wonderful wealth of meaning. It represents taste, flavour,affection, pleasure, delight, happiness, charm, sentiment, pathos, beauty and essence. At Rasa, you will find all this and more The Experience: At Rasa, our food is inspired by the authentic home cooking of beautiful, spice-rich Kerala, where all our chefs are trained. Food is our passion, prepared for you always with devotion, love, and the finest ingredients
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of the best Indian restaurants in London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Rasa is one of those restaurants that once you discover it, you have to keep going back. I was introduced to it in 2007 and have been going back I would say at least once a month (sometimes I get over excited and end up there on a weekly basis!)

Between 12pm - 3pm they do a lunchbox takeaway menu - you can also eat in with your lunchbox. The food is ready so no waiting time and for only £4 - £5 (depending on if you opt for the veggie version, chicken curry or chicken biryani) you get a variation of gorgeous southern Indian food. They are big portions so great value for money, and most importantly, the food is really tasty and not typical of the westernised curry we're used to in our local takeaway restaurants.

If you like Indian food and haven't already visited, please go and you can thank me later!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    37
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great dosa, more expensive than in the Indian areas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have been here a few times for dosa now (the vegetarian branch). It's very convenient to get to and the dosa is really good. It's slightly more expensive than the places out in East Ham, but much easier to get to. Will def be back,

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We ate in the vegetarian one (pink front) and it was lovely experience. Great food, great value for money, nice stuff, couldn't ask for more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 198 cities Reviews in 198 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
“Good food and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

There are two Rasa restaurants on opposite sides of the street in Stoke Newington and we ate at the vegetarian one - number 55. Although it was a Monday night, we were grateful we had made a reservation because it very quickly filled up. The restaurant is narrow and deep and perhaps more suited to dining with friends rather than an intimate tête à tête. It is reasonably disability friendly although careful steering would be required for someone in a wheelchair.

All four of us tried the Kerala Feast and were very satisfied. Details of what is included is on their web site but briefly included a nibbles course whilst we were waiting, then starters and mains followed by a very creamy rice pudding as the dessert. The more people in the party, the more choices you get. We found that the quantity of food offered was quite adequate for the four of us but not over-facing and therefore there was not much left on the table when we had finished. Most of the dishes were delicate in flavour and there was nothing (thankfully) that so blasted the palate that you could not enjoy other dishes. Cobra beer is on offer as is wine / water. Service was prompt and cheerful with an explanation of what we were about to eat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“im no veggie but i could become one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

cheap and chearful and whilst it is veggie you may not notice.the power of the food is there.a wonderful ,cut price ,tasty experience.try it before you die even if you are a carnivour

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rasa N16 also viewed

London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Rasa N16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rasa N16, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.