We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and value wear your sunglasses though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ransome's Dock - CLOSED

Ransome's Dock
35-37 Parkgate Road, London SW11 4NP, England (Clapham / Battersea )
(020) 7223 1611
Improve this listing
Price range: $41 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Clapham / Battersea 
Transit: Tube: Sloane Square, South Kensington Bus: Battersea Bridge Train: Clapham Junction
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food and value wear your sunglasses though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This place has an excellent chef and the lunchtime menu delivers good quality and interest.
Only trouble is: as Boulus said, it does need a facelift, the decor is just wrong. Simply put on your rose coloured shades(80s style will go well with the rest of the decor) and enjoy the food and all will be well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lost its charm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Read previous reviews and sadly have to disagree. This was a really nice busy restaurant 4 years ago..
Returned after a few years of not visiting. Interior in need of facelift, no atmosphere at all and although it was very quite the evening our party of four dined, there was no effort to create any atmosphere. The nice exterior that looks out on to the dock was not even prepared for a pre meal drink and we were asked if we would like to sit outside at a choice of a messy uncleared table or unprepared tables with no chairs. Locals were using the bar as their home lounging around and and not really an inviting aperitif friendly area. The food was flavoured well, but we were served the smallest pieces of fish I could imagine. Although service was very good and all staff very nice, this was far from the Ransome's Dock of past!
OK for a lunch outdoors or group meal, but I would not recommend a romantic dining experiance.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best meal in London so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I've been to the Ransome's Dock last week and I had the best meal of my ten day vacation.
The fish I ordered was fresh and well cooked. The wine list was quite good and the service attentive. The bread looked (and tasted) homemade. The atmosphere was pleasant and the price we payed was reasonable. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Food, drink & service were outstanding . Concluded our visit to London @ Ransome's and it will prove to be a lasting one. It was a cold evening but the warmth and ambiance of the restaurant along the Thames overcame our chill. The menu was unique and the food was prepared perfectly and was delicious. The waiter was extremely helpful in explaining the menu and making recommendations. A bit out of the way but well worth it.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for a family with older children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The Saturday daytime menu is very reasonable for this part of town - ideal for a family with teenagers. The food was tasty and well-presented and our waiter was attentive. There weren't many people in here when we went and the atmosphere was a little flat - but it was mid-afternoon after all. I would eat here again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ransome's Dock also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ransome's Dock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.