We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful occasion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quilon

Quilon
41 Buckingham Gate | St James, London SW1E 6AF, England (Westminster)
02078211899
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Quilon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #413 of 17,039 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $72 - $192
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Westminster
Description: Among the new generation of Indian restaurants specialising in lighter sauces and a more eclectic menu, Quilon is the sister restaurant of the famous Bombay Brasserie. The interior is an elegant mix of rich muted colours and the bar is a particularly popular place to meet. The delicious food is described as 'Coastal Cuisine' and dishes such as seafood, crustacea and a variety of specialities are available. Dishes includes Char-grilled shrimps with lime and chilli, lobster with tangy Goan pickle and fish curry with coconut. Quilon received a "Five Star Diamond Award" from the American Academy of Hospitality Sciences and was granted its first Michelin star in 2008.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“beautiful occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Celebration meal for friends and family after a trip to Buckingham Palace...and Quilon made us feel very much at home and very special...food was superb, well presented, imaginative, exotic or more simple - plenty of choice for all tastes..friendly staff, bright clean and ship-shape surroundings,...yep, a bit pricey but given the location it felt well worth it as a very special treat.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    202
    80
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow! Unique experience for Indian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

First of all I was very impressed with this restaurant. I am vegetarian and I was not sure what to expect when they said south-west Indian cuisine. I am from Texas and I've traveled all over the world but when you go to Indian restaurant it is usually Punjabi food. This food was a blend of Goa, Kerala, Karnataka and I believe some Tamil food. The quality of food was excellent and flavors were very unique and complex and rich. This has to be some of the best Indian restaurant food I have had in a decade. The staff was courteous and attentive and very informative. It is a little pricey but I don't think outrageous for London. I would definitely recommend and go back for this excellent food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I've reduced my score by one due to the prices which i belive are 10% over what they should be. £24 for a chenin blanc is a rip off. The food and ambiance is very good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant and authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I was taken for a a Mother's Day lunch. Very appropriate given the amount of time I've spent in India recently.

The starter of coconut cream chicken seas the tenderest, best cooked chicken breast I'd ever eaten. Ever. Aromatic and did not depend on heat for its subtle flavour.

I had the taster thali as my main course, and staff were happy to substitute okra, which I loathe, for spinach. Now, the portions don't look huge but I can assure you that there is more than enough food here for the reasonable person and you don't end up wasting any, which is a plus.

Again the tilapia and the chicken dishes were cooked to utter perfection, and staff were happy to adjust the level of spiciness to that which we could comfortably tolerate without the food being bland.

Cauliflower and potato bhaji was delightfully shaped with melon balls, a nice touch I thought, and the tomato rasum between courses was a great, tasty palate cleanser.

All in all a very good meal indeed, served by friendly, helpful staff. Portions more than adequate, food beautifully cooked and a very reasonable price, given that this was Mothering Sunday in central London at a Michelin starred restaurant.

Probably the best authentic-ish Indian meal I've had. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“As Good As It Gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Wow! Wonderful food from the master chef. Everything was amazing and the attention to detail and presentation superb. Not the cheapest of places but you don't come for top Indian fusion food and expect rock bottom prices.
Wonderful !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quilon also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Quilon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quilon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.