We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ping Pong

Ping Pong
45 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7JL, England (Formerly Ping Pong Soho)
+44 020 7851 6969
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,590 of 17,940 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Dim Sum
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: London's Ping Pong restaurant in Soho serves delicious dim sum and Chinese dishes, fragrant teas and stunning cocktails. Ping Pong is one of the leading Chinese restaurant brands in central London.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Pretty good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Been here a few times and still going strong. Nice atmosphere, benches are uncomfortable after a while. Excellent non-alcoholic drinks and big bottles of Tsingtao.

The food is good - not greasy, unless it is Shanghainese, brilliant spare ribs and very good prawn toasts. Service was spot on.

Dim sum is a brilliant concept, as is service (often a bit lacking in 'authentic' Chinese). All in all, worth a visit - not bad value either.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    303
    86
    35
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great Business Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Was in between business meetings and in need of sustenance at lunchtime, so had a brainwave and tried (been there before) the Soho Ping Pong. Noisy welcome...well it was empty so the staff had to make me feel important (!), and took a seat up at the bar.

Tucked in to the delicious Ping Pong assortment which was excellent, had a couple of beers to help wash it down, stayed a while to check my emails via their free WiFi, and with service cost me £20. Yes, I could have bought a sandwich from one of the many quick food places for under a fiver, but this was relaxed and a great setting. I noticed that it filled up pretty quickly after I arrived, with a mix of ladies who shop and lunch plus a number of business tables.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“disappointing....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Noisy and too frantic with greasy dim sum, uncomfortable tables and poor service. My daughter and I arrived for a pre theatre meal. We had to sit on tiny stools at little low tables, no one took our coats and scarves so they had to sit draped in decorous pools around our feet on the not too clean floor. Waiters and waitresses were very over worked and deliberately ignored our efforts to order and get a much needed drink and some food. Not their fault. They really had too many people to serve. They were young and inexperienced and I felt sorry for them. The dim sum was bland, all tasted the same and didn't fit on the table. I would never ever go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great dumplings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

One has to choose the dumplings, which was nice, esp. when you share then with the others, one gets to taste many dumplings (chinese)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very Dim Sum”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Went here last Saturday, with a family group despite urging wealthy Uncle & Aunt that it was basically the Dim Sum equivalent of Pizza Express. Was not really impressed with the Dim Sum itself especially considering prices. (Beers & wine are particularly expensive with a glass of red approaching £10!)

What was particularly frustrating was the large round tables which were just that bit too big to chat comfortably to your other guests especially over the continual noise of the place. The tick box paper ordering system just doesn't work in my opinion & as for service I lost count of the amount of times I saw my uncle or aunt trying to catch the attention of a waiter as they whipped past like grease lightening. It's very much a 'manager with headset milling about' type of a place.

My advice spend a little more & book a table at the very excellent Yauatcha just around the corner!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ping Pong also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Ping Pong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ping Pong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.