We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Odette's Restaurant and Bar

Odette's Restaurant and Bar
130 Regents Park Road | Primrose Hill, London NW1 8XL, England
02075868569
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Odette's Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #788 of 17,041 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $26 - $62
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Nearest Tube Station is Chalk Farm
Description: Odette's Restaurant & Bar is one of London's original dining rooms having opened in 1978, and it is still an acclaimed restaurant now owned by Welsh chef Bryn Williams, set amongst a parade of mid-Victorian shops and cafes in beautiful Primrose Hill. Bryn's modern British menu is an innovative marriage of textures and flavours that reflect his personality and heritage: dishes are created using the finest produce sourced from his native Wales and the rest of the UK. Lunch and dinner is served six days a week (Tuesday to Sunday)in the Odette's split level dining room, walled garden and terraced seating area.
London
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
“Good local restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We'd read some good reviews about Odette's on various occasions and were less familiar with the restaurants scene around Primrose Hill. As a result we decided to try them out while they were offering a special Valentine's tasting menu.

Although the name of the restaurant does give it away, I hadn't realised that there was a proper bar area connected to Odette's, located in the basement. And I must admit that I was pleasantly surprised by decoration, dark and soulful, with different corners where you can snuggle away during the warm winter months with a nice cocktail in hand.

The restaurant itself is located on the ground floor. When we visited Odette's we decided to try the Valentine's tasting course, which consisted of:
-Tuna tartare, rillettes, chargrilled (7.5/10)
-Roast beef sirloin, hash brown, wild mushroom (7.5/10)
-St marcellin cheese, celery, apricot (7.5/10)
-Chocolate Souffle, parfait, mousse (7.5/10)

The cooking at Odette's is off high standard, that much is clear. Also, the attention given to detail by the staff is good and the matching wine flight worked well with the dishes.

The total bill at Odette's came to £150 (including service charge, one wine flight to go with the tasting menu, one mocktail, a bottle of water and 1 glass of wine). Taking all into account Odette's is a good alternative when you're in the area and looking for a good meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    48
    28
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant and food in a lovely villiage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Never been to Primrose Hill before. Busy restaurant for a Tuesday night in January, but felt really cosy and service and food were excellent.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Superb food in a relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had a fantastic meal, each course got better. The service was impeccable. We received A warm welcome on a cold evening. The waiters were formal but relaxed, nothing was any trouble . We shall certainly be back .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Had a great meal, service was very good, comfortable and relaxed setting, good wine list, priced very well, and the food was exceptional, especially the crayfish lasagne, make sure you visit, same level as a Michelin star restaurant but half the price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“wonderful birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Odette's was the choice for my birthday just after New Year and how pleased I am that it was. London provides so many choices for good food so deciding where to book before our 4 day trip meant a little research.
The food is some of the best we have tasted. The smoked eel and beetroot was lovely but the star of starters was the crayfish and salted squid lasagne, it was beautiful and both a good portion size. I had the special of sirloin of beef for main with truffle mash, the other half had the whole dover sole with brown shrimp, they were again beautiful and portions more than fair. I was unable to manage a dessert but then agreed we would order one to share. We opted for the pear tart which was a little overdone but edible.
Staff are very attentive, polite and professional.
A very enjoyable dining experience which we would repeat and recommend to others.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Odette's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Odette's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Odette's Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.