We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat... and what a treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Gavroche

Le Gavroche
43 Upper Brook St. | Marble Arch, London W1K 7QR, England
020 7408 0881
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 17,944 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The first UK restaurant to be awarded one, two, and then three Michelin stars, Le Gavroche remains a class apart. Since opening in 1967, this Mayfair bastion of French cuisine has been very much a family affair, and chef-patron Michel Roux Jr continues the tradition today. The elegance of the menu and the ambience is impeccably tailored, while the discreet service has won its own plaudits.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Birthday treat... and what a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We had been wanting to visit Le Gavroche for a long time and finally booked for my husbands birthday over Easter. We had the taster menu along with the recommended wines. Although it felt little rushed to start, we did ask them to slow down a little which they did, we had a lovely evening. The food was outstanding as you would expect and the atmosphere was lovely. I have a fish allergy and they were happy to alter the menu for me for a very nice alternative. To top it off, Michel Roux, Jr popped out of the kitchen to chat with each table. Not got a bad word to say.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,479
    216
    78
    26
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

For my 65th birthday, our children treated us to a lunch at Le Gavroche. We loved it, the food and wine were excellent, the service first-class, the cheese board (sorry, trolley) was amazing, the birthday cake a lovely surprise.....definitely recommend it as a treat....the set lunch menu is extremely good value and you will not forget the experience. Nice touch that Michel came around all the tables! Lovely man as were all the staff!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

A meal at Le Gavroche is unlike any meal that I have ever had before - it was a total experience.

For some the restaurant will be old fashioned and the service a little bit too attentive at times but this is the character of the establishment.

From the minute that you arrive and the door is opened for you until the minute that you leave you are treated as a valued customer.

It goes without saying that the food is excellent - although you may find that you could still be hungry as some of the portions are on the small side. Some nice touches are the cheese trolley (which must have had close on 100 different cheeses on it - the five year old Cheddar is to die for!) and something that I have never seen before is the "ice cream trolley".

On the night we were there Michel Roux Jr was also there which added to the experience.

All in all it was an unforgettable experience - albeit at a price.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yawn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

For all the hype, this place is very dated. Yes, the service is excellent. Yes, the food is good. But it's very conventional, maybe top of the line for 1990 but not now. I had the tasting menu with wine pairings and was surprised there was not one really dry white wine despite the snobby sommelier's description of great minerality in almost all the wines. The reds were pretty plonks, too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“fantastic meal for fantastic value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had lunch here in March to celebrate my wife's birthday.Having booked the table so far in advance,I was really looking forward to the meal and was not let down one bit.Right from our arrival we were greeted at the door by the very helpful and polite staff.They helped us with the menu and wine choices.We had the lunch menu and each member of our party of had different items on the menu. I wont go into the meal but needless to say it was fantasic. The staff were so nice to us and even provided a birthday cake for my wife.Le Gavroche is not just about eating a meal but its about creating a memory and as such its fantastic value for money!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Gavroche also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Le Gavroche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Gavroche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.