We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is NO other restaurant in London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Gavroche

Le Gavroche
43 Upper Brook St. | Marble Arch, London W1K 7QR, England (Mayfair)
020 7408 0881
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 17,568 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: The first UK restaurant to be awarded one, two, and then three Michelin stars, Le Gavroche remains a class apart. Since opening in 1967, this Mayfair bastion of French cuisine has been very much a family affair, and chef-patron Michel Roux Jr continues the tradition today. The elegance of the menu and the ambience is impeccably tailored, while the discreet service has won its own plaudits.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“There is NO other restaurant in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Unfortunately I have dined here only on a few occasions, as trying to get a booking is like pedalling a bicycle to the moon, but I have been asked by Tripadvisor to nominate my favourite restaurant in London. The service has overwhelming charm! The diner wants for absolutely nothing! As soon as a puzzled, enquiring expression starts to spread on your face. A member of the team is upon you, enquring as to your needs. This is how dining should be and lends itself to the whole experience so well. The food is absolutely magical and served like works of art, it is a shame to eat it. I am so glad I cannot afford to eat here every day as it would ruin the passion and the feeling of utter joy when the food hits the taste buds. We were asked if we would like to meet the chef, an offer only a utter fool would turn down. We stood waiting behind a curtain to meet THE MAN, with the restaurant manager, who introduced us like we were the most important people in the world. We explained it was our Anniversary and our first time at Gavroche, Michel Roux Jnr, with a mischievious glint in the eye, asked "What took you so long?" and then guided us around his temple of excellence, introducing us to the person who prepared our vegetables, our ice cream etc. It was the pinnacle of any dining experience I have ever had. Thank you so much Gavroche, the experience was a fabulous! One word for Monsieur Roux, COYQ!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,823
    262
    98
    33
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“LE GAVROCHE - ONE OF LONDON'S FINEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Tucked away in a quiet street in Mayfair, one might walk straight past Le Gavroche, but for those that know (and have some money in their pocket!) this restaurant is one of the best in London.

You can blindfold yourself and throw a dart at the menu to choose your food and be almost guaranteed to enjoy what comes out of the kitchen. The food is prepared beautifully but simply which makes for an excellent meal. The two things worth recommending are the souffles, which one can have as starters or main courses, and the cheese selection at the end of the meal.

The wine list is superb and varied.

The staff are attentive but more than that they are alive to the guests around them. i would be very surprised if you had to do more than raise your eyes in the direction of a waiter to receive some attention.

Expect to pay for the above service and quality, but expect to enjoy it immensely as well!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braughing, Ware United Kingdom
Level Contributor
505 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Culinary cuisine at its finest with service to match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Think of being transported through a wonderful array of your favourite foods, adding some new ones and drinking wines that you know, and some that you don't know. That is the Gavroche experience for me. The entrance is beautifully decorated and you descend to a subtly lit, gracious ambience with attentive but not intrusive service. The attention to detail is staggering and the dining experience just exquisite. We had the tasting menus with matching wines and were talked though the whole meal, which was very exciting indeed. Just as exciting as meeting Michel Roux junior who can't to talk to us. The four of us had a great time all for £850 - just superb.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Another visit to Le Gavroche and this time we opted for the set lunch. This was £52 per person and included half a bottle each of of wine and water. The short wine list was excellent with an delicious Reuilly and very approachable Bordeaux Cab Sauvignon. The starter, a salmon tartar was good but needed a touch of lemon juice.The mains,tuna and chicken were perfectly cooked but the pudding, peach souffle, was rather eggie and needed more peach. We also sampled two dessert wines, A fabulous Corsican muscat and an equally sensational Rivesaltes. Very good if rather over-attentive service completed the lunch. Excellent value in a superb setting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Tripadvisor requires extra stars **********”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This by far is the best meal and dining experience i have ever had. Outstanding service from the moment we walked in. The food and wine were exceptional and the business lunch is such good value. Each mouthful was a delight and i will certainly return when i'm next in London....if there is any availability. If you get the chance please visit. We also met Michel Roux Jr, what a gentleman.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Gavroche also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Le Gavroche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Gavroche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.