We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this the best set lunch in London?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Gavroche

Le Gavroche
43 Upper Brook St. | Marble Arch, London W1K 7QR, England
020 7408 0881
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 17,931 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The first UK restaurant to be awarded one, two, and then three Michelin stars, Le Gavroche remains a class apart. Since opening in 1967, this Mayfair bastion of French cuisine has been very much a family affair, and chef-patron Michel Roux Jr continues the tradition today. The elegance of the menu and the ambience is impeccably tailored, while the discreet service has won its own plaudits.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Is this the best set lunch in London?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Don't quite know that but I do know it's the best our family has had - on both visits

Worth travelling for

The most unassumingly attentive service and generous , delicious meal

Ignore the menu - just go for the cheese souffle !

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,478
    216
    78
    26
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Business lunch includes wine, water, biggest cheese board I have seen, coffee, so there are no hidden extras, only the service charge. If Mr Roux can make it pay On this basis others are ripping us off. Quality is superb, with excellent service, although until restaurant became busy service was a little to attentive, with staff hovering to swoop. Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

If you have to choose one restaurant to visit in a lifetime this it!!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“An amazing experience worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I went to Le Gavroche with my wife to celebrate our 17th wedding anniversary and could not have wished for a better experience. It was simply amazing. We were looked after by the warm and friendly staff. We went for lunch and it was fabulous from start to finish (which came 3 hours later!) The whole experience was just what we wanted and more!.. we hope to return soon. The highlight was Michel Roux coming over to our table afterwards.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Service beyond compare coupled with wonderful food give superb experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Having eaten here once before, earlier this year, I was almost afraid that the experience might not live up to a second meal. However, we were received with a warm greeting at the front door by a young lady who then took us downstairs to our table in the dining room. The room had a soft chattering sound to it and a warm atmosphere and the decor was deep, rich shades of green and red. The tables were mostly occupied by smartly dressed, couples, families and business type people and there seemed to be a lot of waiting staff gliding from table to table taking and fetching items. They appear almost as though they are synchronised and they move effortlessly past the tables and one another in a very calm way, never appearing rushed or flustered yet with a very full restaurant. The amuse bouche arrived almost as soon as we were seated and we opted for the very reasonably priced lunch menu which offered three choices for each of the three courses. Bread, half a bottle of wine and half a bottle of either still or sparkling water is served and included in the price of £51. As you expect from a chef such as Michel Roux the food is absolutely perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. The waiting staff are very friendly and helpful if a little translation of the menu is needed. The home made bread rolls, along with a choice of salted and unsalted butter is replenished as often as you wish and as it is so delicious it is hard to stop at one piece! Wine and water are topped up by staff, who whilst attentive, never impose and as I said before, almost glide around the tables.
Each table has an individual brass decoration - which can be bought if you wish and there are pictures around the walls featuring Michel and his father amongst others. On our first visit, last January, Michel actually came round and talked to diners which was a really nice touch. We can't wait to go again and would recommend very, very highly.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Gavroche also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Le Gavroche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Gavroche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.