We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars no problem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Trompette

La Trompette
3 - 7 Devonshire Road, London W4 2EU, England (Chiswick)
+44 (0)20 8747 1836
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Trompette is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #212 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Price range: $93 - $116
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Chiswick
Description: La Trompette opened in 2001 and serves some of the best food in London but without the formality or prices associated with the capital’s top end establishments.We closed at the beginning of 2013 for a complete refurbishment, and have expanded to include a brand new kitchen, private dining and improved customer facilities. The new appearance has not changed the focus of the restaurant. The aim is as it always has been, to give all our guests the best possible dining experience from start to finish.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“5 stars no problem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We went a bit over the top on the wine but you can come away from here comfortably for £60 per head for 3 courses.
For this level of cooking this is a true bargain.
This isn't Heston. You are not going to be challenged. It is excellent classical technique with ingredients you expect to go together. Plaice and cream, Cod and mash, lobster salad, tuna and tomatoes, gnocchi and parmesan. You get the drift.
But its bloody delicious.
Wine prices are more than reasonable hence why we went a bit overboard.
It is very informal for a michelin starred place, a bit cramped, a bit noisy but that makes me love it even more. I don't particularly want to be on my best behaviour when I go out to eat but i do want to be able to relax.
Every city needs a place like this, unfortunately mine doesn't have one.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    108
    28
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Brilliant Food but a bit cramped”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

The flavours work in 3D so each component works with all the others on the plate, so try them as you wish to find novel combinations. The Daube is brilliant, with red cabbage cooked to perfection. Plus an interesting range of half bottles. However the seating seems to be becoming more and more cramped; one has to be very focussed on the food. OK it was Saturday night but even the staff had difficulty moving about. At those prices a bit more space please.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“OK but not intimate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Tables too close together chairs uncomfortable; food not that good

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Gorgeous little restaurant, amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I went to La Trompette fora friend's 30th birthday lunch. The food was amazing, portion sizes just right to allow for a leisurely 3 courses without feeling too full. The lunchtime atmosphere and service was very good - not a bad word to say. I would definitely go back....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“chiswick corker!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

went with my wife for sunday lunch. we've been to a few 1 mitch star places over the years with varying results [ fair to brilliant, nothing too bad!].. La Trompette certainly deserves its award. It is informally formal which is a good thing. Service was efficient and friendly . The only down side in these dickensian times is that £140 quid for two is a tad expensive for a humble nursing northener! Of course it was worth every penny for my wonderful wife's birthday. The food was to live for and the drinks on the nose. To quote the corpulant cauliflower head from london town; it was right up my alley.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trompette also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to La Trompette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Trompette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.