We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bota

La Bota
31 Broadway Parade (Tottenham Lane), London, England
(020) 8340 3082
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,597 of 17,998 Restaurants in London
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“A Great Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Our Daughter graduated and we wanted somewhere close to her flat to celebrate with family and friends.

OK we were a group of 8 but we were there for three and half hours and not once did we feel under any pressure to 'move on' which is so easily the case at less tolerant establishments.

We've eaten tapas in Spain and even been ripped off in a tourist restaurant on Los Ramblas in Barcelona so were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food at La Bota.
Service excellent and final bill for the evening was extremely reasonable

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
510 helpful votes 510 helpful votes
“Pretty authentic tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Having just returned from Cape Town where tapas restaurants have become the 'in thing' (e.g. Fork or The Pot Luck Club), it was refreshing to return to La Bota, a staple of Crouch End for as long as anyone can remember. Over the years, it hasn't really changed at all: the same menu plus specials on a blackboard, the same waiters, the same decor and the same slightly raised eating area to set it apart from patrons at the bar. We've always tended to visit it at lunchtime when it's unusual to see more than one or two tables occupied. Presumably it does get busier in the evening or when there's a football match to be watched; if not, it's hard to see how it survives. Whatever, the food is always dependably fresh and tasty, whether it's mushrooms in garlic and olive oil, patatas bravas, green lentils with chorizo or Spanish sausage. White or red Rioja is a good, light accompaniment. And £40 with service is undeniably good value.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Authentic and tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Came here on a Sat night with a group of friends. It's a no frills, authentic Spanish place. We had to wait a bit for the menu's but it was worth the wait. The food was delicious! We had a couple of dishes each and shared them about. It was plenty. Highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a lovely evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

La Bota is definitely in the top three restaurant in Crouch End. Always busy with a very traditional atmosphere and menu. Great value too. If there it is a bit busy like on a Friday, have a glass of house red at the bar, it is worth the wait.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great little tapas restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012 via mobile

This is my go-to restaurant in Crouch End. Always busy, with a great atmosphere. The food is very reasonable, and very tasty too. Nothing pretentious, just simple, great food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bota also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to La Bota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.