We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kulu Kulu

Kulu Kulu
76 Brewer Street, London W1F 9TX, England (Soho)
(020)-7734-7316
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,619 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Neighborhood: Soho
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Cheap and delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Love this little place...tucked away and it doesn't feel so busy. Like the guys making sushi in the middle of the conveyorbelt and the service is quick. Fresh and very tasty food, decent price - especially for lOndon - and free green tea! Love going here for honest sushi.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    51
    23
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious Sushi, good value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Yumm! Great, fresh sushi, friendly staff & not too expensive!! My favorite pick for sushi when I am in london!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointing experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Chose to eat here after recently eating at their sister establishment in Kensington (5 star review), and expected a similar standard.

Brewer St is the same format with a large conveyor belt in the centre of the restaurant and sushi chefs preparing dishes in the middle. We ate around 6pm and walked straight in without queuing.

I felt quite a lot of the dishes had been on the conveyor belt for too long, they looked a bit dry and tired. As the restaurant got busier the chefs started to fill the belt with fresh dishes, but the choice of dishes seemed quite limited. They seem to make up bulk quantities of a particular dish. We requested salmon sashimi, fried aubergine and salmon teriyaki. The teriyaki never arrived. The larger rolls, like California, were too large for my liking with a poor balance between rice and filling.

The price was higher than the Kensington branch of Kulu Kulu and the service and quality not so good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfortville, France
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Good value for money in central London... But...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Affordable diner and reasonable quality in central London. Sushi belt service. No reservation possible, expect to queue especially during week ends. It was not our first visit there, but we found a drop in quality since our last visit (must have been 7/8 years ago). Not too good rice. 10min before the single waitress takes your order for drinks. Some fish cuts were very poor (pieces of tuna hard to chew!). Average attention to details of the presentation.
£50 for two good appetites, remains still a good deal for the location.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Proof that one doesn't need to spend £££ on a decent meal in London. Outstanding sushi, decent prices. The queues to get in say it all. Can't wait to go back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kulu Kulu also viewed

London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Kulu Kulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kulu Kulu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.