We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Want Fish, Then Here it is - In Spades.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J Sheekey

J Sheekey
28-35 St Martin's Court, London WC2N 4AL, England (Covent Garden)
+44 20 7240 2565
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #251 of 17,039 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $45 - $76
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: In the heart of Covent Garden, J Sheekey is a fish and seafood restaurant offering the finest fish, oysters, shellfish and other fruits de mer. Discreetly tucked away on St Martin's Court between Charing Cross Road and St Martin's Lane, J Sheekey is a stone's throw from many of the West End's theatres, the cinemas of Leicester Square and vibrant quarters of Covent Garden and Soho. The Royal Opera House and Coliseum, Palace Theatre, Donmar Warehouse, Wyndham's, Duke of York and Noel Coward Theatres are close by, making the restaurant perfect for pre and post theatre dining. All fish is responsibly caught from sustainable sources.
Northamptonshire, UK
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“If You Want Fish, Then Here it is - In Spades.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

You need to book. Very busy restaurant indeed. We booked a table for six and were given an 'allowance' of 2.5 hours. This is fairly generous, and in fact no-one chased us out and we stayed longer.

3 x types of oysters including West Mersea (North Essex) which were expensive, small and tasted wonderful. Dressed crab was also very good indeed. It doesn't come in a shell, but in a crab-shaped outline on your plate. Frito Misto starter also very good (lightly battered and fried seafood bits and pieces) and Sheekey's did a fish sharing plate for three of us which was delicious.

I decided to try the smoked herring roe on toast for a savoury in place of cheese or pudding. Very buttery and rich, but excellent if you still have room!

We tried a variety of white wines including the Bellbird SB (NZ), the Gavi de Gavi, the Albariño Leira Reyero and the Languedoc Viognier (more or less as an aperitif). All very good, but the Bellbird SB and the Albariño were outstanding.

There are a small number of meat choices available, but Sheekey's is all about fish, and justly famous for it too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    814
    359
    123
    40
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Absolutely fabulous meal at J Sheekey. Dining at the bar is a beautiful experience and still very private to enjoy a romantic meal. The food was absolutely stunning and cooked to perfection. The Scallop starter was particularly special and a fantastic array of wines to choose from. The staff are very knowledgeable and welcome any questions about the menu or the restaurant itself. I wouldn’t hesitate to go back and look forward to trying other dishes on their eclectic menu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

A lovely restaurant with delicious food. The service was fabulous, and my waiter was scrumptious. The whole look of the place is pleasant and I will definitely be heading there again. Highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Well up to Standard!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I took a friend here for a social lunch and we were not disappointed. My guest had had a mix-up with a Finnish phone, which worked, though slowly) and a British one 9which apparently did not work at all! Accordingly, they were nearly an hour late in arriving, but the staff took all of this in their stride, and kept me plied with kir royale until the visitor arrived. My trusty laptop kept me occupied, otherwise.

My crab bisque was well up to standard, and my guest was given a selection from the three varieties of British oyster available - an extremely popular suggestion by our waiter!

We both had the fish pie, which is a hardy perennial and the signature dish - simple but successful. The buttered spinach which accompanied it went down a treat.

Chocolate souffle for my company: spotted dick and custard for me. Very nice indeed, with espresso to close.

We chose a Sauvignon de Touraine 2012, which has smooth and suitably dry, and which cut through the creaminess of the sauce within the fish pie.

The restaurant lived up to its high standard:I do feel hat, at £100 per head for a meal with the cheapest main course on the menu, and one of the cheaper wines on the list (£35) was rather expensive, although hugely enjoyable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We probably go to this restaurant three or four times a year and it is always an enjoyable experience. We often go pre theatre but last night was just for the meal. The four of us all had something different but all were good. Standout for me is the Cornish fish stew, but the fish burger and fish pie were also highly rated. It is always extremely busy and buzzy but the service is efficient and helpful. For such a popular, famous restaurant in the middle of theatre land the prices are reasonable and altogether it is difficult to fault.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Sheekey also viewed

 

Been to J Sheekey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Sheekey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.