We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Praiseworthy Performance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J Sheekey

J Sheekey
28-35 St Martin's Court, London WC2N 4AL, England (Covent Garden)
+44 20 7240 2565
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #249 of 17,052 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $45 - $76
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: In the heart of Covent Garden, J Sheekey is a fish and seafood restaurant offering the finest fish, oysters, shellfish and other fruits de mer. Discreetly tucked away on St Martin's Court between Charing Cross Road and St Martin's Lane, J Sheekey is a stone's throw from many of the West End's theatres, the cinemas of Leicester Square and vibrant quarters of Covent Garden and Soho. The Royal Opera House and Coliseum, Palace Theatre, Donmar Warehouse, Wyndham's, Duke of York and Noel Coward Theatres are close by, making the restaurant perfect for pre and post theatre dining. All fish is responsibly caught from sustainable sources.
Hamilton, VA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Praiseworthy Performance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Within a quick walk from an evening spent with Helen Mirren (at the Gielgud Theatre) my husband and I found ourselves outside J. Sheekey. The long red awning along the front facade invites you inside to London's premiere fish house. As we were late diners (10:15 reservations), the restaurant was buzzing with activity--the servers and staff participating in a culinary choreography that would rival the Royal Ballet. Seated at a quiet corner table, we enjoyed a quick pre-dinner drink and began our delicious journey with gull's eggs and Cornish Rock oysters both of which we had never experienced before but will be repeating as often as possible! The starters' presentations were lovely yet very practical--no wasted special utensils or garnishes. We both savored mains of grilled dover sole--flaky, fresh and fantastic.
While the hubbub and noise level might deter some potential diners, it somehow fit the surroundings and you feel part of the evening's performance--all without those uncomfortable pointe shoes. If it's fish you favor, J. Sheekey beckons.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    814
    359
    123
    40
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Broadway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“somewhere special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have always wanted to go to eat at this restaurant as I heard it was worth a visit. It was! Table service was second none, nothing was too much trouble, great food and wine. We will return for a special treat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fish at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Fish a J Sheekey was our best meal in London! Fantastic fresh fish and wonderful combination of flavors (herbs...tomatoes...). Service was good although we were not pampered like other guests (maybe because we didn't order expensive wine?). We can't imagine a trip to London without a meal at Sheekeys!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Excellent food in the Oyster Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We tried to reserve a table too late for the main restaurant, but were more than happy with the food, atmosphere and service in their oyster bar. Definitely worth a return visit, to try out more of their amazing menu. It was our 29th anniversary, but this more than fitted the bill. Thank you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food, dubious charges”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We ate at the Oyster Bar on Saturday night (next to George Clooney and across from John Cleese!), as I have been desperate to eat here for a little while but couldn't get a table in the main restaurant. Entrance was a bit chaotic, difficult to identify who was front of house, and where we were supposed to go, but found a spot at the bar and had an amazing frozen Tanqueray with a twist - though barman was v ignorant. Anyway, once seated at the bar, service was quick but sparse and ordered the most incredible fish pie, Cornish oysters and langoustines. All sublime, was total heaven. Real shocker came when we found our three dishes, house wine and 2 gins cost £127, and they'd added a 12.5% service charge! There wasn't any service to speak of, you just shout across the bar when you want something, so thought this was obscene. Anyhow, food made it so worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Sheekey also viewed

 

Been to J Sheekey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Sheekey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.