We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sunday lunch - but drinks prices on the high side” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawksmoor Spitalfields

Hawksmoor Spitalfields
157a Commercial St. | Shoreditch, London E1 6BJ, England
+44 20 7426 4850
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hawksmoor Spitalfields is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #342 of 17,929 Restaurants in London
Price range: $63 - $94
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Shoreditch Overground Station, Liverpool Street Underground Station
Description: Enjoying iconic status across the city, Hawksmoor Spitalfields has built a reputation for offering the finest steaks in London. Oozing old-school glamour, the suave dining room features shabby-chic brickwork and old school wooden furnishings, offset by a littering of trendy kitsch trinkets. Alongside a celebrated selection of dictionary-thick meat cuts, Hawksmoor favourites include plum pudding belly ribs, or smooth potted smoked mackerel.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
442 reviews 442 reviews
422 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday lunch - but drinks prices on the high side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We went for Sunday lunch, having previously reserved a table. We were warmly greeted and shown to our table. One chose a starter of potted smoked mackerel (£7).

Both chose the Sunday Roast (beef) for mains (£19.50 each). One opted for the beef cooked pink, the other well done. This was served with a huge Yorkshire pudding also containing 3 roast potatoes (cooked in duck fat), fresh carrots, fresh leafy green cabbage leaves and delicious gravy. The roast was delicious and tender and the vegetables were great. For a Sunday lunch it would be hard to beat.

The wine was rather pricey. We both ordered a 175ml glass of Sauvignon Blanc (£9.50 each) and a bottle of South African Cabernet (£37.50). There were also cheaper wines at £5.50 and £6 per 175ml glass or £18 or £19 per bottle. If it were not for the wine prices, we would have rated this as Excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    207
    59
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lives up to name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I visited Hawksmoor on 31st Oct and can say that the title that they give their restaurants as "best steak in London" is true. I 've been Las Vegas this year and had the best steaks I have ever eaten and never thought I'd eat better! But I have. It's not cheap but you get what you pay for. Real quality beef cooked to perfection! You must also try shaky Pete ginger brew. Just amazing

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hawksmoor Spitafields”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent Food, Faultless Hospitality for such a Cool Casual Establishment.
10/10 for the Sunday Lunch, and 10/10 for the best burger in London, your food looks great on the plate and even better down the pallet.
I strongly advise anyone visiting East London to book or reserve a table on the ground floor, or,
walk in to get a seat downstairs in the basement bar....

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and cocktails.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great experience at the Hawksmoore in Spitalfields. We were a party of four and all enjoyed their steak (fillet and rib-eye with bone) served with a nice bearnaise. But prior to the meal, my partner and I were waiting for the second couple to join us and had a couple of drinks at the bar. Amazing service at the bar with wonderful cocktails and exceptionally knowledgeable bar staff. I loved their bar menu. They also serve a really nice, local lager. Overall great experience but there is an above average price tag for the awesome-ness, so be careful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
376 reviews 376 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
“Still not as good as in the past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was a regular client of Hawksmoor and I stopped visiting this restaurant due to a drop of quality. I went back for lunch last week and I enjoyed my meal. The steak was excellent and well cooked. The sides (particularly the chips) were still disappointing compared to the "old" Hawksmoor (they use to serve in my view the best chips in London). The prices are high but this is nothing new! Overall a good steakhouse.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawksmoor Spitalfields also viewed

 

Been to Hawksmoor Spitalfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawksmoor Spitalfields, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.