We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food but the staff were even more amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Gordon Ramsay

Restaurant Gordon Ramsay
Royal Hospital Road 68, London SW3 4HP, England (Chelsea)
020 7352 4441
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Gordon Ramsay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $157
Cuisines: French, Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Description: A must for the culinary connoisseur, Restaurant Gordon Ramsay offers exquisitely simply French cuisine, infusing the senses with subtle flavours, creative flair and a delicate finesse. Combining contemporary elegance, an intimate ambience and unparalleled service, Restaurant Gordon Ramsay has the hallmark of true excellence honoured with three Michelin Stars as of January 2001. The seasonally inspired a la carte menu offers a wide selection of exquisite dishes, ranging from Roasted Fillet of line caught Turbot and Oven Roasted Pigeon from Bresse, to Aged Casterbridge Beef Fillet and Roasted Barbary Duck Breast. The Set Lunch menu also offers equally outstanding quality, including such succulent dishes as Fillet of Daurade Royale, Braised Ox Cheek in red wine, and Roasted Fillet of Pork. Restaurant Gordon Ramsay operates a smart dress code. Jackets are preferred for gentlemen. Jeans, t-shirts and sportswear are not permitted.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Amazing food but the staff were even more amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The food was fantastic as expected given the prices we paid but it was the incredible service by all the wait staff including the Director throughout the night that made this the best experience we'd ever had. To top it off, we were invited into the kitchen after the dinner! I ate at Epicure a week after this and Restaurant Gordon Ramsay still tops it for us!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,129
    153
    62
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
469 helpful votes 469 helpful votes
“disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

What a disappointment. On your last visit we really enjoyed the lunch at Gordon Ramsay's flagship restaurant. Accordingly, I made a reservation for my wife's birthday and ask them to organize a signed cookbook. Due to the sniffy reaction and clear message from Mrs Fiona that this won't be possible, I decided to cancel the reservation and made a reservation at Alain Ducasse restaurant at the Dorchester instead (review will follow). It seems that due to Gordon's fame they are not prepared to go that extra mile.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fab evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Possibly our favourite restaurant in London. Eaten there 6 times and last time went for dinner and had tasting menu. Food sublime, service excellent and although expensive well worth it. Some of the less than flattering reviews are odd in the extreme makes you wonder if they are just made up. Please go there and enjoy

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Gordon Ramsay's restaurant on Royal Hospital Road is absolutely the best. From the smooth, friendly service, the gracious staff, the understated decor and the top class linen, crockery and cutlery, everything sets the stage for a 3 star michelin meal. The dishes are all works of art and having been there several times, I really think there is no dish I wouldn't recommend. Our latest meal there included Ramsay's signature lobster and langoustine raviolo, divine foie gras, lamb nagar in and a magnificent turbot. Go there for a special dining experience. The best part was to be invited to see the spotless kitchen in the throes of a busy service and meeting the lovely Chef Claire. We will definitely be back there before the year is out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I thought our dinner in the Queen Victoria room at Victoria & Albert’s in Disney World was exceptional however our evening meal at Restaurant Gordon Ramsay far surpassed it.

From the moment you walk in the door to the moment you leave the service from Jean-Claude and his team is excellent; attentive yet unobtrusive, warm and engaging. The surroundings are modern, elegant & relaxed.

The food is the best I have ever had, each individual flavor really stands out and the whole evening was a culinary journey of taste, scent and visual perfection. Clare Smyth has created perfectly balanced dishes that really showcase her obvious passion for ingredients, attention to fine detail & refined style. The wine list is extensive and Jan the head sommelier is extremely knowledgeable whilst being friendly and informative.

We had the A La Carte menu which is three courses, but with a continual flow of artisanal breads, amuse bouches & an entertaining palate cleanser it is a much larger meal. We also decided to add on a cheese course as the selection on the trolley looked amazing and tasted the same. I usually try to be as objective as possible when doing my reviews but I simply could find nothing to fault with this restaurant and it definitely warrants its three Michelin stars.

We will definitely be returning as the whole evening was a delight and something I look forward to experiencing again soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Gordon Ramsay also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Restaurant Gordon Ramsay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Gordon Ramsay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.