We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence to the letter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Gordon Ramsay

Restaurant Gordon Ramsay
Royal Hospital Road 68, London SW3 4HP, England (Chelsea)
020 7352 4441
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Gordon Ramsay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 17,442 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $157
Cuisines: French, Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Description: A must for the culinary connoisseur, Restaurant Gordon Ramsay offers exquisitely simply French cuisine, infusing the senses with subtle flavours, creative flair and a delicate finesse. Combining contemporary elegance, an intimate ambience and unparalleled service, Restaurant Gordon Ramsay has the hallmark of true excellence honoured with three Michelin Stars as of January 2001. The seasonally inspired a la carte menu offers a wide selection of exquisite dishes, ranging from Roasted Fillet of line caught Turbot and Oven Roasted Pigeon from Bresse, to Aged Casterbridge Beef Fillet and Roasted Barbary Duck Breast. The Set Lunch menu also offers equally outstanding quality, including such succulent dishes as Fillet of Daurade Royale, Braised Ox Cheek in red wine, and Roasted Fillet of Pork. Restaurant Gordon Ramsay operates a smart dress code. Jackets are preferred for gentlemen. Jeans, t-shirts and sportswear are not permitted.
Paris
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellence to the letter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We took lunch here on a fine summer day a few weeks ago. From the first minute, service was outstanding, food was wonderful, decor was fitting. We had the tasting menu which took some time but was truly wonderful. Both my wife and I agreed this was the best we have had to date.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,107
    151
    61
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is high end classical fine dining at its very best, with superb, friendly and warm service. I ate here several years back, and I clearly remember the maitre d' making me feel very welcome, and he did exactly the same again yesterday. He even offered to show me the kitchen after the meal, but I had to pass because my taxi was waiting. Most definitely the friendliest 3 star restaurant I have been to! And it's looking good after its refurb in February - very cool, calm and relaxing shades in the dining room.

Here's my report on the food...
First I must mention the delicious bread and butter, particularly the onion and bacon brioche and a divine wheaten bread which exceeded my memories of wheaten from my Ulster childhood.
The amuse bouche was a delicate bowl of tomato essence, baby tomatoes and cucumber - the perfect summer introduction to the meal and the skill of the kitchen.
My starter was a fine summery confit salmon and fennel tart, which, although it looked more "rustic" than a traditional 3 star dish, was delicious and flavoursome, and reminded me of Provence. My partner had a good fig and smoked duck salad.
My main was rabbit loin (fantastically moist and tender), wrapped in Bayonne ham and accompanied by a fragrant lentil salad and turnip puree. Really good! The husband had a wonderful dish of cumbrian mutton which was so lean and tender.
Then we both had banana parfait with peanut butter and chocolate which was good, but I found the peanut butter element a bit heavy and clawing, although this was overcome by a glass of Jurancon 2010.

With top quality ingredients and excellent skills from the kitchen, plus the superb service, the £55 lunch menu was good value. The wines though are expensive, but very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“High price for good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice place, food was good not great. The cost was high. service was good but not real helpful. They think more of themselves than they of the people that eat there.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had a lovely time and dinner,thank you everyone.
I will be back next time when i will visit London for sure!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Great Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This restaurant is unbelievably fantastic. We have been there twice and on both occasions the staff, the chef and the food have been outstanding. This is the Ramsays on Royal Hospital Road. The original restaurant he opened a long time ago and keeps updating.
It is difficult to describe this experience. Just have it yourself.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Gordon Ramsay also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Restaurant Gordon Ramsay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Gordon Ramsay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.