We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Gordon Ramsay

Restaurant Gordon Ramsay
Royal Hospital Road 68 | Chelsea, London SW3 4HP, England (Chelsea)
020 7352 4441
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Gordon Ramsay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 16,874 restaurants in London
Price range: $39 - $157
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delightful dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My partner and I booked a table for two for lunch at RGR, Chelsea during our trip to Europe. We walked down from Sloane Square and were met at 11.55am by pleasant staff who gave us a glass of champagne while we waited for our table. We overheard the Maitre'D Jean Claude giving the staff the "pre-match" talk showing they are still working hard to keep service at a high level. We enjoyed beautiful food which was all individually served - hers, Szechuan salad and rabbit with a cheese plate (55 pounds) and mine, scallops, pigeon and banana souffle (95 pounds). The nice young sommelier helped us select some wine, an Alsace Riesling. The highlight was the Maitre'D Jean Claude who was amazing. He has been with GR since their beginnings over 15 years ago. Jean-Claude was a delightful. conversant and totally informative Frenchman (what a rarity). Overall an absolutely delightful dining experience, congratulations to Jean-Claude and his well honed team.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    962
    123
    55
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Superb dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My fiancé and I considered ourselves lucky to snatch a 'last minute' dinner reservation at the restaurant and I must say, our experience was very good. We ordered the prestige menu and in a nutshell, the dishes was delicious, creative and very well presented. Just the anticipation of how the next dish would taste and look like was enough to make us salivate. The service, which in our opinion is the greatest asset of the restaurant, was exceptional; extremely personalised, attentive and friendly.

On the down side, we were a little disappointed by the atmosphere in the restaurant. The décor was lovely, but we found the tables to be too close to one another such that we could easily hear the neighbouring tables' conversations. The high noise level is certainly not something that one would typically expect in an up-scale restaurant.

We certainly saw how the restaurant earned its Michelin stars and are convinced that one must experience it at least once in one's lifetime. Having accomplished that and although we thoroughly enjoyed the experience, we are unsure as to whether we would go there again. There are simply too many other restaurants that we cannot wait to discover instead!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have, eaten here twice, and on both occasions, the staff were very welcoming and professional. The food was just fabulous: everything created with attention to detail, creative combinations, lovely presentation. Lots of extras: snacks to start, sorbet between course, petit fours at the end. Faultless.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Truly exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary by having lunch at Gordon Ramsay's restaurant. We chose the tasting menu as we thought we can sample a little of everything. I can honestly say that we found the food divine one of the best lunches we have experienced. The service was faultless we'll informed warm staff.

The experience made our day special and one we won't forget.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“What a meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This restaurant comes with high credentials, and we went with high expectations. We were not disappointed.
Never have we received such attention in a restaurant, to ensure that our every need would be satisfied.
It is not possible to describe the eating experience - it is like being part of theatre. The food is full of surprises, served with breathtaking style, with unexpected treats along the way.
At the end of the evening we were asked if we would like to see inside the kitchen - amazing!
We left with the feeling that we had been privileged to experience an incredibly special culinary experience - guaranteed to make a visit to London a lifetime memory.
Book early!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Gordon Ramsay also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Gordon Ramsay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Gordon Ramsay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.