We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The French House

The French House
49 Dean Street, London W1D 5BG, England (Soho)
(020) 7437 2799
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,377 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: British
Neighborhood: Soho
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Soho
Stjordal, Norway
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

First of all: it only serves half-pints! And they're all at about £2,50 so it's not cheap. But it's not bad and it's got an interesting atmosphere so well worth the visit. I might be back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best bar in London bar none”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Been going here for a couple of years now and this place never disappoints. OK it might be crowded and a touch pricey but the excellent service coupled with the eclectic clientele more than make up for those minor inconveniences. Best times to go are Friday and Saturday nights. There's no music, no stupid gambling machines and mobile phones are banned. It's simply a great place to chat and you're guaranteed meet someone new & interesting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Love this friendly bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Love this friendly little bar in the heart of Soho. As we favour wine over beer, we were really pleased with the choice and the fact that it's not too expensive for central London. Knowing the history of this place and being a frequent visitor way back when I lived in London during the 80s and 90s it was lovely to go back and spend an afternoon people watching the regulars and some very interesting characters! Bar staff all lovely and friendly. Will always be on the agenda for a visit when in town - hoping to enjoy a meal here next time as well!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Nice Place To Meet Friends.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

When I'm arranging to meet friends in the Soho pub, I find this a great place, you feel your not in a normal pub, but is a very nice friendly place, they don't sell pints , which I think keeps out the big boozers. So I give it the thumbs up!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great bar.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Could not disagree more with a recent review. We love this authentic little Soho bar,usually our first stop when we're in London. Have been visiting for several years and always have a good experience.
Staff have always been chatty and friendly and some have been there for years. Not eaten there but will get round to that as well.
Have visited at all different times of the year and have never been disappointed. Give it a try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French House also viewed

 

Been to The French House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The French House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.