We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Pre-Theatre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fredericks Restaurant

Fredericks Restaurant
106 Islington High Street | Camden Passage, Islington, London N1 8EG, England (Islington / Clerkenwell)
+44 (0)20 7359 2888
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fredericks Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,350 of 17,998 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $96
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Islington / Clerkenwell
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Nice Pre-Theatre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked here for early dinner as it is only few minutes walk to Saddlers Wells theatre. We arrived a little early for our 5.45pm table so sat in the nice bar and ordered a couple of cocktails. We were then shown to our table. As it was a nice evening we had a table outside in the garden area that was lovely. It quickly filled up with fellow pre-theatre goers. The inside of the restaurant looked bright and modern too.
We decided to choose from the Pre-Theatre menu which was 3 courses for £19.50. I started with a Chicken Liver and Foie Gras Parfait, and my Wife had mushrooms on toast. Both were tasty but small. We both then chose the Lamb Kebabs with Pickled Red Cabbage. Fearing that it was going to be small we ordered a side of chips, and it was just as well. A Small Kebab and a line of cabbage. Very tasty but too small. For dessert I had a lovely Banana parfait and my Wife had Peach Melba (What looked like half a tinned peach in juice with a scoop of ice-cream). Service throughout was friendly and efficient.
We did look at the A la carte and there looked to be some nice dishes, and we saw dishes on other tables that looked lovely, but they were quite dear. Overall we had a nice meal in lovely surroundings, but portion sizes made the value questionable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    74
    39
    19
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food in lovely surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The first bonus was being asked if we would like to sit in the garden to eat -it was a lovely summer's evening so, of course we would! Initially put off by some rogue smokers, who soon left, we had a wonderful leisurely evening. It was difficult to make choices as there were so many tempting dishes on offer but what made the quality even better was that we'd had a bad meal there about two years ago and vowed never to return, but were very glad we did. Beautifully flavoured scallop, tuna and salmon tartare to start, followed by (for both of us) different choices of grilled fish simply presented and cooked, accompanied by home-made chips to die for! The meail was rounded off, after a yummy dessert, with home-made petits-fours. All portions were modest enough not to feel stuffed at the end though, nor `minceur' enough to feel hungry. A lovely evening all round.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ideal in Every way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Super menu, good wine list, excellent service. We especially liked the garden. Menu was seasonal, fresh ingredients. Good wines at reasonable prices. Low key, relaxed, unpretentious. It was our second visit after two years and it was even better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what it is!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I so wanted this restaurant to delight my tastebuds but unfortunately as a previous reviewer has stated it all ends in the decor. The restaurant looks really nice and the terrace, in particular, is beautiful for al fresco dining. Regrettably, the menu is uninspiring and confused suggesting the lack of a clear identity for this Islington restaurant. The scallops with watermelon and broad beans did not work together (as expected) and neither did the pine nut cheesecake with raspberries. The mains were just OK (grilled steak and fish you could have anywhere). With a bottle of wine (and two starters/two mains and one dessert) the bill came in at £150. This is comparable to the price paid at Michelin starred establishments (e.g. Dabbous where I dined the other day). Unfortunately that's the only similarity that I can draw between Fredericks and Michelin starred restaurants. I will visit again but only for drinks! Otherwise very bad value for money!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice decor is where it ends!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Dreadful place! Staff were very unhelpful and moody, food was bland, overpriced and mine was cold! Nice décor, that's the only positive comment I have to offer!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fredericks Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fredericks Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fredericks Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.