We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far better places to eat nearby” 1 of 5 stars
Review of fish!

fish!
Cathedral Street | Borough Market, London SE1 9AL, England (Southwark)
+44 20 7407 3803
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,112 of 17,041 Restaurants in London
Price range: $18 - $45
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Seafood, English, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Southwark
Description: Fish! Restaurant in the heart of Borough market, does what it says - providing the very best fish available in London to hungry customers. Established in 1999, restaurateur Tony Allan had a vision to transform the old 18th century Pea Shelling Warehouse into a fish restaurant. The airy interior encompasses the open kitchen where diners can watch the chefs at work. The restaurant opens out onto a large terrace, which is open all year and sits in the heart of Borough weekend market, with views of Southwark Cathedral.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Far better places to eat nearby”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had specified that we were going to have a baby with us and that we would need a high chair, but the table we were allocated had no space for the high chair (even though we chose a 2.30pm lunch seating and the restaurant was not so busy).

On ordering the food, the waitress informed us that the grilled dishes only came with a 'garnish' and urged us to order sides for our meal. We followed her advice, but this was just blatant upselling and, in fact, lies. The 'garnish' turned out to be a generous helping of veg and there was no need for sides.

Coffee was cold and my warm chocolate fondants (plural because the first one was returned for being chilled) were room temperature at best. I gave up with the second fondant.

Far better places nearby. Go to one of the stalls at Borough market or try Wright Brothers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    174
    99
    47
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Ukraine
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Positive impressions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was pleased to have chosen this restaurant to try my first 'fish and chips'. Nice interior, friendly staff, excellent food, professional service. I have only positive impressions.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
folkestone England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Had a lovely lunch, fish cooked well lovely atmosphere.
Good attentive staff, not pushy. Sorry that as it was a bank holiday the market was closed will have to go back again. Perfect location for people watching

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Terrible service ruins experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

At first this appears to be a busy little gem hidden behind the market. The restaurant is overall quite nicely designed with a sizeable outdoor seating area. However, the train tracks right next to the restaurant makes outdoor eating a fairly loud eating experience with trains rattling passed every few minutes.

We were seated very quickly and menus were left. After taking the initial drinks order, we then seemed to be forgotten from then onwards. The drinks took at least 15 minutes to arrive (and were wrong as well). The wait for the food order was incredibly lengthy too and again, a special request made with the food was not met. The calamari starters arrived warm and soggy, rather than hot. The scallops (mains) for £23.50 only finds you with literally one flat mushroom, some rocket salad and only four (!!!) scallops. A steep price to pay for such a small portion and such a long wait. The scallops however were perfectly cooked, but the (distinct lack of) service completely ruins this eatery, which does have lots of potential being situated in such a convenient location.

Overall, I would recommend sitting inside (to avoid the train noise). Don't have high hopes for fast service (it wasn't even that busy to excuse the long delays), so don't eat here if you are in a hurry. The food is above average, but compared to cost it is all very overpriced. If the service were excellent, it would be a different story and I think one would easily accept price and food standards as a good London eatery. A shame really about the poor service on a Thursday evening. Perhaps worth a re-visit when the restaurant is quiet?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wehr
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips - the first time for friends.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My German friends wanted to try fish and chips for the first time. Booked a table for 13:00 two hours in advance on a Friday., no problems! The fish and chips were OK. We had cod, haddock and Halibut. The other friend all selected other grilled fish. (Skate and plaice). The grilled fish portions were rather small for the price. Thankfully the ladies didn´t not have big appetites. I think men would leave the restaurant hungry ! I don´t mind paying 12,5% service charge for a group of eight, but I do expect service ! they come, take the order, disappearuntil you need the bill - where´s the service. Last time in Borough Market (two months ago), I went to Appleby´s the grilled fish was better value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed fish! also viewed

 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
London, England
 

Been to fish!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage fish!, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.