We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night out with fab food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dover Street Restaurant

Dover Street Restaurant
8-10 Dover Street | Mayfair, London W1S 4LQ, England (Formerly Dover Street Restaurant) (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )
020 7629 9813
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dover Street Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,863 of 17,944 Restaurants in London
Price range: $46 - $79
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Description: This is one of the few places in London which consistently offers a combination of fine cuisine with top live music acts and dancing every night until 3am. The restaurant has recently been refurbished and serves modern French/Mediterranean style food. This is a great place to go if you want a lively atmosphere and entertainment in a West End location. What's cooking? King prawns with lobster sauce, Dover Street gravadlax, toasted goats cheese with Mediterranean roast vegetables, char grilled fillet steak, pot roasted duck with carrot puree, braised parsnips and potato sautee.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great night out with fab food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Booked the set menu offer which gave you 2 courses and your table for the evening. Staff were attentive but not all over you. Interesting clientele particularly when later band came on! Food was great and wine was reasonable. Jazz to start at 9pm was great and at just the right level, band were excellent too. Fantastic value for a great night out.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    72
    43
    33
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Thank you Mum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I had my first experience of this place and I loved it. It was a present from my mum and I have got to thank her for letting experience it. The food was great, though at one point I think the staff forgot about us!
Cheesecake is to die for!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed - had expected so much more....Interesting that reviews are one extreme or the other??”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Ok food was alright, music was good. If you buy vouchers you will be sat in terrible place, no view of band. Service abysmal, we cleared our own plates. Interior nothing special, certainly doesn't warrant price. There was a driver in our party ( so sober and could keep count), they stitched us up big time with number of drinks. and they don't tell you at beginning of evening but if you're a la carte, ( they tell you on desert menu-sneaky) that there is a £2.50 per person charge for listening to the music. The only redeeming feature was that the company was great! Aside from that, this place made a big deal of taking deposits, not wanting to sit us together ( some had vouchers, some a la carte) and some waiting staff a lot more helpful than others. there are far far nicer restaurants for the money, probably ok to pop in for a drink, but then I wouldn't pay door fee of £15 for that either. Ive always thought bad reviews were from people that sit there with nothing better to do, this is the first review I've ever written- but theres a reason there are so many bad reviews for this place

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Night Out with Good Food & Music!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We visited last Friday on the 30/05/14 after purchasing the 2-4-1 4 course dinner. We booked for 21:00 and when we arrived we were promptly shown to our table which was by an empty bar at the far end of the restaurant, not the best location but not the worst either!
We were given our free cocktail which was a peach belini which was OK.
The food was enjoyable especially the steak that we had as a main and the cheesecake for dessert was delicious. What made the evening entertaining was the live music during our meal that added to the ambience of a lovely evening. Unfortunately they finished at 21:45 but we were not left silient as they have a DJ that played music until the next band was on!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isleworth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great venue if you want a dance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Hadn't been before and was taking a friend out who wanted somewhere one could stay after the meal and enjoy the music. This fit the bill. The restaurant food was excellent although the whole atmosphere early evening was quite 1980s - prices did seem a bit much for what it was BUT waiting staff were all great and once the band started at 10.45 the atmosphere was brilliant - great bar and music going on really late. Great mixed crowd.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dover Street Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dover Street Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dover Street Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.