We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dover Street Restaurant

Dover Street Restaurant
8-10 Dover Street | Mayfair, London W1S 4LQ, England (Formerly Dover Street Restaurant) (Mayfair)
020 7629 9813
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,505 of 17,041 Restaurants in London
Price range: $46 - $79
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: This is one of the few places in London which consistently offers a combination of fine cuisine with top live music acts and dancing every night until 3am. The restaurant has recently been refurbished and serves modern French/Mediterranean style food. This is a great place to go if you want a lively atmosphere and entertainment in a West End location. What's cooking? King prawns with lobster sauce, Dover Street gravadlax, toasted goats cheese with Mediterranean roast vegetables, char grilled fillet steak, pot roasted duck with carrot puree, braised parsnips and potato sautee.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Dined here in May, with a gift voucher, what a fantastic experience! Service was impeccably efficient, and very professional. The 5 course meal was probably the best we have ever had, every course was divine. Considering the exceptional quality, the value is simply outstanding. After the meal, the tables were cleared away to make room for a dance floor. Live jazz music throughout the meal was pleasant, and later replaced by a DJ playing golden oldies. If in the area again, we will definitely return, and would recommend this restaurant to anyone, regardless of requirements.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    73
    43
    33
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great for Hen and Cougar parties !!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Popped in for cocktails and music. Terrible. Full of rather drunk middle aged women, dancing around their handbags! Cocktail waiter at the bar was rude AND expected a tip. Awful cocktails and claustrophobic surroundings. But great fun if this is what you are looking for !

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Average Food, Reasonable Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We dropped in for a bite to eat - soup was luke warm, steak was ok but not brilliant, drinks are quite expensive.
For atmosphere its ok - good music, lively and happening place !!.

Would I go back - probably, but not for a special night out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshireclanger
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice food.nice venue, expensive food and drinks.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The reception was warm and welcoming. We arrived early so we didn't experience the whole atmosphere of music and dancing, but it did start to warm up as we were leaving. The food was well presented and tasty. The service was professional and efficient. Didn't like the 12.5 percent service charge added to what was a present (voucher) so we didn't pay it. The drinks were highly priced, nearly £6 for a glass of lager! Why they don't charge a reasonable rate I don't know as we would have ordered more. A glass of wine was equally as dear. All in all it was an ok visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great music and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I didn't expect the food to be anything special as most people would probably go for the music. I was pleasantly surprised! My halloumi starter was great and my husband was pleased with the prawn starter. I had steak which was good. The service was good too most of the time. The music was great, but the main band did not start until 11 o'clock which is far too late. We will definitely be returning soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dover Street Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dover Street Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dover Street Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.