We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Club

Cinnamon Club
Old Westminster Library, 30-32 Great Smith Street, London SW1P 3BU, England (Westminster)
(020) 7222 2555
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cinnamon Club is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,604 of 17,041 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $49 - $198
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Westminster
Transit: Westminster and St. James's Park tube stations are both within walking distance.
Description: Challenging the notion that Indian cuisine can only be created using age-old recipes and ideas, The Cinnamon Club demonstrates how evolution and adaptation can create a new chapter in gourmet excellence. Housed in the Grade II listed former Westminster Library, a stone’s throw from London’s Westminster Abbey, The Cinnamon Club’s neo-colonial feel fits perfectly with its distinctive style of Indian haute cuisine.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I've visited Cinnamon Club many times, the food was always outstanding and the wine list is just superb, very friendly staff and an amazing tasting menu. Will be back soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    335
    158
    87
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Well thought out original dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is really a gem. The location, for starters, is brilliant, in a stylish library right around the corner from Westminster Abbey. The kitchen (main course of any visit) is exquisite and very professional, modern Indian dishes take you to a culinary heaven. Distinctly Indian, but prepared and presented with well thought out, original touches. Service (essential in any menu) is great. We felt welcome here, right from the very friendly lady attendant at the entrance and our careful waiter to the last step outside after dinner. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mr David Woodcock”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

This was my third visit to this restaurant on previous occasions the food and service had been wonderful. Unfortunately this time around things had slipped considerably. The drinks waitress in the bar was moody, in efficient and not a bit helpful. The barman couldn't mix a Cosmolitan and to round things off the food was very average. Won't be going back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Breath of fresh air in Indian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

As soon as you enter the premises you know you are in for a treat. The elegant ambiance together with the smells exuding from the kitchens give you the most positive anticipation. The service cannot be bettered. You are pampered with discretion and thorough explanations of the various dishes. Try as much as you can as each dish is unique and exquisite!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cinnamonclub01, executive assistant to CEO at Cinnamon Club, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi Alex,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us, as we are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience!

Did you have any favourite dishes?

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Shanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not your traditional Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I picked this place to celebrate my 49th birthday on June 17. I did not know what to expect but I was very happy after this experience. The food was excellent! The service was great. We chose the Royal Labour of Love Menu (£45.00/person). It consists of an appetizer, a starter, a reset course, a main course and a dessert. Everything was so delightful and very tasty. Great presentation. I had the best tandoori black leg chicken breast ever! Every dish had a special signature (a touch of love, perhaps). Great atmosphere. I just wish I was wearing a proper attire (everyone was well dressed, suits and ties or blazers and slacks - I was wearing a t-shirt and jeans, but not for one second they made me feel unwelcomed). I really loved this place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cinnamonclub01, executive assistant to CEO at Cinnamon Club, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi Nilton,

Many thanks for your glowing review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your birthday dinner with us! Our Royal Labour of Love menu is proving to be quite a hit!

Warm wishes for a very happy birthday. We hope to see you again at Cinnamon Club very soon.

Kind regards,
Shanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cinnamon Club also viewed

 

Been to Cinnamon Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.