We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rose Lounge

The Rose Lounge
Sofitel St James | 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England (Clapham / Battersea )
+44 (0)20 7747 2200
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Rose Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,194 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Price range: $39 - $54
Cuisines: Continental, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Clapham / Battersea 
Oxford
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Loved their selection of teas, good sandwiches, excellent scones and truly filling cakes.

Decor and ambiance were equally good, and the harp music was a very nice touch.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    6
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Magnifique & relax afternoon tea time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Perfect afternoon tea for family!

Had a wonderful time with my family.
The room is very well decorate with some great comfortable sofas!

Had the deal with the Rose & Lychee champagne cocktail @ £32,00 per pers.

Patisserie & sandwiches are very nicely present and fresh.

We arrived at 2:30pm but around 3:00 it started to be full and had someone playing harp! Very nice atmosphere and relax time.

Love it!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
370 helpful votes 370 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Small, cosy, warm, colourful and comfortable with good food and excellent service - book to be sure of getting in for tea though.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing - just amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Me and my sister went to this hotel to have afternoon tea. Everything was fantastic - the atmosphere, the staff, the food and even the toilets (I went to the toilet three times just of the amazingness) !

The roselounge was beautifully decorated and smelled like roses. It was very comfortable and the staff was very serviceminded!

The scones were heaven! Clotted cream and lemon curd.....mmmm....

It was two hours of plain luxury and happiness! I really recommend other people and tourists to visit this amazing place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Manage your expectations and enjoy the scones”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

There are 2 types of Afternoon Tea establishments in London. There are places, like the Athenaeum, where you are treated like royalty, where the experience is close to perfect from start to finish. These are the places that you book for special occasions, especially if you rarely splurge. Then there are places like The Rose Lounge, where service is more Pizza Express than Ritz (only within the lounge, from what I saw of the rest of the hotel, the service was impeccable). These places should be visited for a casual afternoon tea, not for special occasions or if you're looking for your first London afternoon tea experience.

Let's start with the setting. This is the biggest positive of The Rose Lounge. Within the beautiful Sofitel hotel, the lounge itself is well decorated with bright, vibrant colours. A harpist in the corner only adds to the atmosphere. Chairs are well laid out and guests don't feel cramped.

To start, you get 4 finger sandwiches each. The fillings were fine, but the bread was a bit stale. Disappointing really. Either the bread was stale when the sandwiches were made, or they'd been left uncovered somewhere to harden. Couldn't really fault the scones - they were perfect and you get 3 each. The cakes were very nice, if a bit on the big size. That's not a common complaint, but personally I thought they could have improved by offering 3 or 4 smaller cakes rather than 2 big ones. They had a wide selection of teas and the champagne and lychee cocktail was excellent.

Service fell down on the finer points. They had no record of our booking, but did not explain why or apologise for their mistake. One waitress took pleasure in patronising our neighbour, who thought his PA had arranged champagne cocktails in advance. We weren't asked how everything was, nor were we wished well on our way out. In fact, we were ignored after the bill was settled. Minor details that make a big difference at the better establishments.

Overall, the price was £180 for 5 afternoon teas with champagne cocktails, including a 12.5% service charge.

I've seen retorts from the manager in other reviews that Sofitel offers better value for money than the other hotels. This may be true, but the difference in value really isn't worth it here. Either save up and visit Athenaeum or The Dorchester, or go somewhere cheaper and more casual like Bea's of Bloomsbury or Dolly's at Selfridges.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rose Lounge also viewed

 

Been to The Rose Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rose Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.