We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really really good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bradleys

Bradleys
25 Winchester Rd., London NW3 3NR, England
020 7722 3457
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bradleys is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #719 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, European, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Jublie Underground 5 minutes away
Description: Bradleys restaurant in London���s Swiss Cottage is the first choice of locals for pre-theatre meals near the Hampstead Theatre or for meals with friends and family in a relaxed atmosphere. And Bradleys has held that place in their hearts for some years. Chef Patron Simon Bradley has a time-honoured recipe for success: highest-quality ingredients, inventive cooking, welcoming staff, spacious dining room with intimate corners. The d��cor is mildly 1930���s-inspired made more serene by a leafy garden. Bradley���s menu is best described as British cuisine with a southern French accent, luring well-fed regulars who include both fortunate locals and in-the-know diners from right across the capital. Chef Bradley has a way with fish, especially chargrilled halibut with leek confit and wild mushrooms, and carnivores and vegetarians are superbly fed, as well. The expansive wine list features over 90 different wines from around the world and has won critical acclaim from the Good Food Guide and a Bib Gourmand from Michelin.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Really really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Had read reviews, and needed to take parents somewhere closeish. Booked at last minute - not disappointed. Fantastic value for prix fixe. £15 for two courses; £19 for three. Great wine list; spot on service. Only reason for low ambience score was that it was a Tuesday night and only three tables full at any time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    62
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Imaginative menu, and good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I took my girlfriend to Bradleys for her birthday dinner. We received a very warm welcome and got a nice table by the lovely garden. I and my girlfriend were impressed with the menu and the imaginative flavour combination. The knowledgeable staff recommended us a great wine which complimented our food perfectly. I'm already looking forward to my next trip to Bradleys..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Excellent theatre eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Great place pre or post the Hampstead Theatre. The prix fixe hits the spot - chicken and haddock both declared just right by our party - and the service is quick, friendly and, telling for London, able to produce cold water without being asked. Good wine list, though Bradley's like many others still cannot provide a range of good summer whites. How about some Furmint or harslevelu?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“What is wrong with Bradley's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We are regulars at Bradley's and took my cousin there last night for his birthday. The fab Liam is still the manager - luckily he is as the waiting staff were completely useless. As I was eating my starter a waiter put his arm in front of me as I was eating to refill my wine glass. We had paid our bill but the waitress came up twice more with the credit card machine. We hadn't finished our starter when our plates were being collected. The waitress also managed to,pour wine into a water glass! We had gone out for a relaxing evening but we all felt we had run the Marathon. The food was beautifully,presented but for the price and the quantity needs to be more. The restaurant was also quite empty when usually it us packed out with people and there is a lovely buzz but last night it was seriously lacking. A shame really.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A really good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our first visit to Hampstead Theatre and Bradleys both were a success and we are likely to visit again.
The pre theatre menu worked well for us and provided enough choice. I dislike rushing and allowed plenty of time, some restaurants which advertise pre theatre menus struggle a bit. This was not true of Bradleys who delivered the goods in a timely, well presented and well served manner. A good example of pre theatre dining despite having to good number of covers all working to the same timeframe.

I would also like to find time to sample the full menu ...

Interesting foliage garden out the back too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bradleys also viewed

 

Been to Bradleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bradleys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.