We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and lively.We last went to this restaurant over 30yrs ago. Not much has changed it was still fun.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Borshtch 'n' Tears

Borshtch 'n' Tears
46 Beauchamp Place | Knightsbridge, London SW3 1NX, England
020 7589 5003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9,754 of 17,931 Restaurants in London
Price range: $16 - $80
Cuisines: Russian, Eastern European
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun and lively.We last went to this restaurant over 30yrs ago. Not much has changed it was still fun.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We last went to this restaurant over 30yrs ago. Not much has changed it was still fun. The menu was full of quips which made it all the more interesting.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Weird and Wacky, Great Chicken Kiev”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Fun and irreverent. A small place on Beauchamp Place in London, Borshcht n' Tears (they contend it is London's oldest Russian restaurant - since the '60s) is incredibly "flexible" with opening times. Usually it opens at 6PM M-T-W, then it opens at 3PM on Thursday to take advantage of after shopping drinkers. Family-owned, the on-site manager has a dry sense of humor - maybe that is real Russian. The server is usually a very attractive and attentive Eastern European young woman - maybe Russian. But all that is beside the point.

The Chicken Kiev is very good. The service is excellent. The prices are not cheap... after all it is on Beauchamp Place a couple of blocks from Harrods.

They are often out of champagne, so you might have to go with Slovenian Riesling or some such.

The Russian musician usually starts at 7PM or so (flexible as well).

We try and visit twice every time we go to London.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unique atmosphere, Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

After getting some recommendations from friends, I decided to also visit this restaurant.
I have to say, it was a wonderful night!
The service and the food were very nice and delicious, plus that the live music really made the atmosphere real! After the official dinner, we made friends with our next-table neighbours and in the end also tried out the russian karaoke.Yes, they have karaoke nights there!!!

Amazing place, amazing atmosphere, great food.
A must for every russian and non-russian!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I absolutely love this place!!!
Food is very tasty, presented beautifuly. Choices of different meats/ fish etc..I brought here a few of my non- Russian and Russian friends, all of them were very happy with the place.
There is live music on most of the nights ( can't remember when exactly ), which makes it even more fun.
Great for big groups of people, romantic dinners with difference, family outings.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cosy place and nice musical...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

Cosy place and nice musical entertainment. Service was impeccable, portions fairly small. Wine selection is mediocre and you find same selection at your cornershop. Food tastes good but it seems that something is missing. Be vary of the vodka, it's quite expensive and the owner is a bit of a grump. The staff otherwise was very friendly. The menu had a bit too much pork for our taste buds.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borshtch 'n' Tears also viewed

 

Been to Borshtch 'n' Tears? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borshtch 'n' Tears, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.