We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat Feast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bodean's BBQ - Soho

Bodean's BBQ - Soho
10 Poland Street, London W1F 8PZ, England (Soho)
+44 (0)20 7287 7575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #857 of 17,039 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $41
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Soho
Suffolk, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Meat Feast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We ate at the Tower Hill Bodean's on a Saturday evening (1830hrs) in May with no booking but only had a very short wait for a table downstairs for our party of six. The staff were friendly and helpful ( I had read negative reviews about staff attitude but we had no issues at all) and struck the right balance between attentiveness and over fussing. We all enjoyed the food (sharing platters and pulled pork sandwiches) and I loved the Boss Hogg beer. A couple of the cocktails were disappointing and pricey but overall, for London, the meal was excellent value and thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    386
    103
    34
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“YUM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great buzzy atmosphere, baseball on the TV, so American! Bit close to other tables but added to the ambience. Fab food, would recommend the ribs. Plan to revisit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very, very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I recently went to Bodean's for a friends birthday on a busy Saturday afternoon. The restaurant was very busy with a queue outside and there were 14 of us eating. The service was excellent, as was the food. We completely over ate, and everything we had was very flavorsome and well cooked. As for pricing, it was reasonable and you could eat there, if you eat sensibly for not much money at all.

I will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great service, even better food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Went here on the last evening of my birthday weekend and loved it. We arrived a couple of hours before our train home and were told that there would be a 30-40 minute wait (which we'd allowed for) . We mentioned that we had a train to catch and asked them to let us know as soon as the able was ready, the hostess took my number with a promise to call. A few minutes after leaving she called to say that a table had come up and as we were on a tight shedule she could squeeze us in, which was perfect.
Now on to the food - big portions, tasty food and cheap as chips. I had the soho special, a deli sandwich containing bbq pulled pork and burnt ends, which was amazing. The chips had a lot of seasoning but were very tasty, and the coleslaw balanced out the saltiness.
My partner had the 1lb pulled pork burrito, which she actually made a pretty good attempt at! It was really nice, but the ingredients could have been better distributed within the burrito - one end had all of the pork and the other was full of jalepenos!
On the whole though, excellent - we'll be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great location with views of the Tower of London, Serves a variety of American Beers. Food is great Ordered WAY to many chicken wings, should have just settled for them and a side of fries would have been more than enough.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodean's BBQ - Soho also viewed

 

Been to Bodean's BBQ - Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodean's BBQ - Soho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.