We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moments of utter brilliance - but often hit or miss!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bodean's BBQ - Soho

Bodean's BBQ - Soho
10 Poland Street, London W1F 8PZ, England (Soho)
+44 (0)20 7287 7575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #857 of 17,039 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $41
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Soho
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Moments of utter brilliance - but often hit or miss!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I have lived in London for around 7 months now and last night was roughly our 5th time. Up to this time we really haven't been impressed - but continued eating here in the hope that we would get that one time when the chefs were really on form - and last night It was utterly superb! - we had a platter, sharing burnt ends, beef ribs, baby back ribs, chicken, pulled pork and a side of hot wings.....I cant stress how delicious it was......

However, the experience before was a little different - we got to the soho restaurant at around 10.50 just wanting a quick basket of wings before going home - we rushed to place our order before 11 when the place starts to close. I couldn't help but notice the look on the chefs faces (there were 2) as they were already in the process of wiping down for the night - it was one of sheer disgust directed towards me. Admittedly this made me feel a bit uncomfortable. We ordered "hot" wings which if you have tried them are just slightly spicy and very easy to eat! However when our wings arrived they were literally inedible due to their heat. They were even beyond the "diablo" wings they serve - and i know because ive had them several times. There were literally hundreds of chilli flakes thrown all over them - and believe it or not I could see the chefs smirking and joking in the kitchen. All i can say is that the soho chain has lost a customer for life - and i have advised many people to avoid the place. Such a shame that a reputable restaurant has its reputation soiled by a pair of complete imbeciles in the kitchen.

Grow up.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    386
    103
    34
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Outstanding - worth the wait for a table!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I've eaten here twice now while in London on business, and it's never failed to impress me. The food is absolutely to die for, and my mouth is watering just thinking about it. I recommend the ribs, and slow cooked pulled pork... On my last visit I ordered an extra portion of pulled pork, and ended up having to get a doggie bag (although I ate it - far too good for doggie!)...

My sister lives in Tennessee, and I've had some great BBQ there - this is just as good, which is why it is rammed every night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Bodeans@tower hill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Food is very average and was served cold, it also took an age to be served to us. Atmosphere is desperately trying hard to come across as American but failing miserably, an experience not to be repeated when next in London.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Meat meat meat ! (and chips)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

If you like meat you'll love this restaurant. It serve's ribs, pulled pork and burnt ends combo's and has an american diner feel to it.

It is of a good standard, and certainly does its chips well. The menu is extensive with multiple combinations.

The food is is of a good standard, however discerning diners will find it feels a bit out of a packet / freezer / deep fat fryer chain restauranty. If you're in the mood for that it will definitely hit the spot. I think they could change the recipe for their coleslaw a bit to add more flavour as this was disappointing, however the rest was delicious, sweet and well cooked. The chips are especially good. Burnt ends sweat and saucy, and the pulled pork is the best. The ribs (spare seem best) have a good amount of meat on them.

If you want to go on from this restaurant, I would thoroughly recommend visiting Pit Cue Co round the corner, and although you will have to queue for a long time (obviously as it's brilliant and no reservations allowed) however you will have the best ribs / pulled pork / burnt ends with some interesting takes and twists on this classic cuisine.

If you're in the mood for hearty, meaty and a bit of a hangover cure, this is the place for you and would thoroughly recommend the cocktails and atmosphere of this buzzing bar / restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Read about this place in GQ magazine so decided to pay a visit last week with a friend. We ate in the restaurant downstairs instead of the takeaway upstairs. We couldn't decide what to have so opted for the sharing platter - pork ribs (two types), beef ribs, pulled pork, chicken, burnt ends, sausages, fries and coleslaw. Every mouthful was perfect. The service was fantastic, the atmosphere was buzzing, busy yet intimate and we didn't feel rushed despite the rapid turnover this busy Soho venue experiences. I'm told we were lucky to get a table, even at 2pm on a Thursday. I'll be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodean's BBQ - Soho also viewed

 

Been to Bodean's BBQ - Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodean's BBQ - Soho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.