We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden In Plain Sight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Afghan Kitchen

Afghan Kitchen
35 Islington Green, London, England
(020)-7359-8019
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,389 of 17,039 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Afghan
Dining options: Late Night Food, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night Food, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Hidden In Plain Sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I've walked past this restaurant hundreds of times and never noticed it... huge mistake! It is simply magnificent! I took a client out for dinner here as it was somewhere he'd wanted to go for ages, and together with my girlfriend we thoroughly enjoyed every tasty dish put in front of us. We all found it pretty that we were just given 3 seats at a communal table, but make sure you book or else you wont get in as there are maybe 20-25 covers. The yoghurt chicken is by far the best dish on the menu, but we enjoyed everything we ate. Afghan food is great for sharing dishes. We'll certainly head back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    32
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Greasy, tasteful take-away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Nice alternative to a sandwich as this is not really a restaurant but more like a take-away place with 2 tables and a bench. Short and simple menu of pre-prepared food that is heated, greasy but tasteful, reasonably priced except there is no bread for lunch and the rice are highly overpriced at £3 per very small portion. So skip the carbs and go for protein lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful customer service, but the yogurt chicken always tempts me back...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The customer service is atrocious to say the least - the staff are rude, couldn't really give a stuff, there's no queuing system so don't be surprised if people who walk in after you and who do not have a reservation get seated before you do (and yes it was the same party size) and even f you do have a reservation it means absolutely nothing because you still have to wait and you'll be seated in the same manner as any walk-ins. The portion sizes have gotten smaller even though they charge the same and the food comes at different times and you'll be lucky to get a drink before you finish your meal... Needless to say I dread going to this place, but I can't resist the yogurt chicken and the bread. I just wish that management would take note of the poor customer service and the portion sizes!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice bread”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Small place, amazing bread. Very hot and flavourful food. Would perhaps get a quick bite again if in the area, but not go out of my way for this place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Over-rated, cramped.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We were made to sit on a bench which was too high for the table. In addition, the vegetarian food options were bland and the service poor. We spent about 5 minutes explaining to the waitress what 'tea with milk' meant. Overall, would not come here. Perhaps the meat options were better.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afghan Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Afghan Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afghan Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.