We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrummy yummy breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Italia

Bar Italia
22 Frith Street, London, England (Soho)
(020) 7437 4520
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,776 of 17,041 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Soho
Lancashire
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Scrummy yummy breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Service amazing, good amazing and yes I would recommend it. We went for a breakfast treat this morning and was over the moon we did. I had an egg and bacon ciabatta roll and it was lovely as was the coffee.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    53
    26
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A special kind of magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

In the middle of Soho is this gem of a place. Nothing fancy but the real Italian deal. Coffee is sublime, Italian light foods are authentic and the place is part of London street history.

Highly recommended for a place to sit on the pavement and watch the crowds go by...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best bar none”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

No frills, independent coffee shop in the centre of Soho is one of the best spots for quick drink before a show, or a long, lazy afternoon. Unpretentious Bar Italia is the only authentic coffee house that remains from the boom of the 1950s and little has changed since then. There's a good selection of cakes and savouries and a genuine 'local' feel to the place - if you can't get a seat outside try to get one of the window stools for people watching on Frith Street.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Bar Italia is one of those places where everytime you visit it, everything stays the same. If you've felt the 'soul' of this place the first time you got there, then you'll be hooked on it forever and you won't want anything to change.

We visit Bar Italia every time we visit London, UK and it has never failed to provide us with great coffee quality over friendly service. Over these 24, 25 years we've introduced Bar Italia to friends & family and everyone is thankful for finding such a good spot for coffee & drinks (not coffee shop chains). I am so glad our kids now 'demand' to take them to Bar Italia when in London; history/ tradition continues ....

As mentioned earlier, its the soul of this place that makes you go back. And its coffees. And the food. And its staff. And the diversity of its clientelle. And its location.

Classic. Priceless.

p.s. I couldn't understand the language of the bad reviews here below but most probably they meant to post a review for another establishment ?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Like Italy in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Quite simply the best Italian bar I have been to in the UK!! Not that I've been to hundreds but I did live in Rome and this comes nearest to the real thing than anywhere else. It was an expensive coffee and cake yesterday...a mad dash across to Soho for a 'fix' at Bar Italia meant we missed our train home and had to buy £50 worth of tickets all over again. Eek! But that's what you do if you love a good Italian coffee and know where to get one. Lovely service too. Friendly and efficient.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Italia also viewed

 

Been to Bar Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.