We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant new tasting menu at this wonderful old favourite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Babur

Babur
119 Brockley Rise, London SE23 1JP, England
+44 20 8291 2400
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Babur is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #662 of 17,931 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $61
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Open since 1985, this delightful, unpretentious restaurant in Forest Hill, London, is renowned for its stunning and innovative modern Indian cuisine. Babur's stylish, earthy interior features exposed brick walls, natural wooden furniture and beautiful handmade Bengali artworks. The intimate atmosphere and sensational staff have made Babur a favourite dining destination with Forest Hill locals, and the food is worth making a trip across town for. Current customer favourites include tamarind-glazed quail breast, goat patties, chukanderi venison froms starters and steamed spice crusted shoulder of lamb marinated for 100 hours, Laverstoke Park buffalo lal mas, Babur aubergines stuffed with spinach and paneer with peanut sauce. Our wine list includes about 30 grape varieties that suit Indian flavours and our Indian flavour-profile house cocktails have become quite a draw for customers.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant new tasting menu at this wonderful old favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We went to Babur for my birthday last week and had if anything an even better meal than on our half dozen or so previous visits. Two new tasting menus with matching wines have been introduced, one with meat and fish and one vegetarian. We had the five course vegetarian version which is an absolute delight.The cooking is sophisticated yet also fresh and simple, with the flavours of the excellent ingredient clearly emerging alongside the subtle herbs and spices. It remains amazing that we have a restaurant of such quality in this slightly obscure corner of SE23, but local residents should treasure it and it is also well worth a visit from further afield, particularly as prices are much lower than equivalent food in more obvious areas. Five substantial and beautifully cooked courses for two with matching wines (much more generously poured than the advertised 100ml per course!) resulted in a bill under £100 - very good value for this quality. Lovely staff as always, and we had a nice chat with the chef when he came out to ask us what we thought at the end of our meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    38
    12
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“consistently good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have eaten here for many years and have introduced many of our friends to the delights of the Babur.This restaurant is always busy and with good reason. The food is imaginative and utterly delicious. If you are looking for a menu of traditional indian food, the Babur may not be for you (but I am sure the delightful staff would happily accomodate such a request) If you are looking to try something just a bit different then welcome to spice heaven.
Babur is not the cheapest restaurant around but it is excellent value for money. I can honestly say that in 20 years I have never had a bad meal here. They even do a table to home takeaway menu !. There is always a little chefs taster something yummy to whet the appetite. My favourites?
beggars purse, masala dosa, black lentils.
Give it a try, you will not be disappointed

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Top Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We visited last Friday, as my partner had read the reviews in TA and we were not disappointed. We arrived half an hour early and were seated straight away without a problem. The staff was brilliant especially the main waiter who explained the menu. The food was excellent and very tasty - the best we've had.
We would certainly go back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“food/atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

i have been to this restaurant on five occasions wiith my daughter,husband and son when i visit london from liverpool
the greeting is excellent and you are seated quickly
the waiters are attentive and drinks and poppadums arrive quickly
orders are taken and subject to your order and its complexity the service is very ggod
the food is excellentlly cooked.
curries are very good
i will be in london during june and will revisit

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service, Pleasant Ambience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Babur Brasserie in the Honor Oak Park section of Greater London has some of the best Indian food you're every likely to taste. The menu is elegant and varied, the staff is friendly and efficient, and the ambience is upscale and pleasant. Yes, it's pricy, but truly excellent. Reservations are recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babur also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Babur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.