We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgrace!!! Over priced! Pervy chef!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Benihana

Benihana
37 Sackville St. | Piccadilly, London W1S 3EH, England (Mayfair)
+44 20 7494 2525
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Benihana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,008 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: Elegant Japanese styling and delicious fresh food await you at London's Benihana Restaurant. Benihana is a favourite not only of tourists but of locals fresh from the nearby offices, relaxing with colleagues or indeed entertaining clients. In keeping with the Benihana brand the chain began in New York way back in 1964, this means that this year, 2014 is our 50th anniversary. This superb Japanese restaurant swaps the conventional kitchen for a central hibachi grill around which diners watch their food being prepared before their eyes. Boasting a wide range of meat, fish and vegetarian dishes traditionally cooked Benihana offers a unique Japanese dining experience not to be missed.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disgrace!!! Over priced! Pervy chef!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Me and my partner went to the restaurant in Piccadilly, absolutely awful. Had to watch the chef drool over a lady on our table, look down her top and act As though me and my partner were not there. We watched on as other guests enjoyed being entertained and we had nothing of the sort. Food was ok but not worth the amount it costs, I didn't even stay for the tea afterwards! Waitress that delay with us couldn't have been less helpful if she tried! I would not recommend this place to anybody!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    138
    82
    33
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“What great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Celebrating my friends birthday a group of us enjoyed a dining experience I had never encountered before. We were seated around the hot griddle where we watched our chef in action. What a character - not only amazing in his culinary skills but he chopped and presented the most amazing tasting food and three in some juggling and props - we watched as he made a steam train from a pile of onion rings and said "mind the gap". He was witty and funny and we watched him create a Furness of fire before us. Very skilful and hilarious fun. The food tasted good and plenty of it. Whilst not cheap, it is a dining experience to remember and to be savoured. Great place for a special occasion but you must go just for the experience. Lots of photos if fun and great memories for Facebook - benihana you have the right staff for the job!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Be prepared to have fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

You have to be ready to have fun, chat with your table mates and engage with the chef. The skills they have at the hibachi are mesmerising and our chef was so funny and playful, it really made the meal so enjoyable. The food was very delicious and the rest of the staff were quick bringing out the drinks and salad. The restaurant is massive and had a great atmosphere, we loved the whole thing!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Paying for the experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

An enjoyable experience, however very over priced. The meal was over £100 without any alcoholic drinks!!! I would recommend the chicken yakitori and the rest of the food was nice - just not worth the price paid.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Have been at Benihana's Kensington branch a few years ago and was rather disappointed. So this time we tried the Picadilly one, and it was good! A visit to Benihana mainly depends on two things: a funny chef, and guests at your table that want to watch the show. If either is missing, you might leave disappointed. I've had visits when the guests were constantly talking to each other without even noticing the chef prepairing their meal, and that can really spoil the evening for the whole table. We were lucky enough to have a very funny chef this time, and the other two couples at our table were also enjoying his show.
The food was great, as always, although the menu hasn't changed in years, so it's always the same routine: soup, salad, prawn starters, and then the main. This is not such a big problem for me as I'm not visiting Benihana that often, but I guess it can get boring if you're a more frequent user.
To sum it up: you will definitely get good food at Benihana's, and if all comes together, you will have a really enjoyable dinner with a special show. Best tipp would be to go as a group and fill the table with your friends and family, and motivate the chef to do his best!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benihana also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Benihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benihana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.