We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant experience with all that show going on” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Benihana

Benihana
37 Sackville St. | Piccadilly, London W1S 3EH, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )
+44 20 7494 2525
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Benihana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,328 of 17,938 Restaurants in London
Price range: $20 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Description: Elegant Japanese styling and delicious fresh food await you at London's Benihana Restaurant. Benihana is a favourite not only of tourists but of locals fresh from the nearby offices, relaxing with colleagues or indeed entertaining clients. In keeping with the Benihana brand the chain began in New York way back in 1964, this means that this year, 2014 is our 50th anniversary. This superb Japanese restaurant swaps the conventional kitchen for a central hibachi grill around which diners watch their food being prepared before their eyes. Boasting a wide range of meat, fish and vegetarian dishes traditionally cooked Benihana offers a unique Japanese dining experience not to be missed.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience with all that show going on”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

At first I was reluctant to go and eat at a Japanese restaurant, but all my fears seemed to vanish as soon we got started with the food. It was a bit surprising there was more red meat and chicken than sea food, but just suited me well as I hate fish, shrimp, etc. All the meat and the chicken was first class pure, and pretty everything I ate tasted excellent. But since it's Benihana and the cook does his tricks in front of you at the hibachi grill, it was also about the experience: For example I for one really liked to watch the famous Onion Volcano.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    121
    73
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Chef Makes or Breaks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I've been to Benihana twice! The first time I LOVED it, hence my second visit. We were served quickly, had a hilarious chef who had great tricks, the prices we're great (including affordable set menus). The second time however, was NOT so amazing. I booked my table a week in advance as it was for my birthday and I wanted to make sure it was timed well. We we're held in the "lounge/bar" area for an hour pushing our night back quite a bit. When we were finally seated we had to wait another 20 minutes for a chef to be done with another table so we watched the chef at the table directly adjacent to us. Laughed at his jokes, clapped for his tricks. Then he left that table. 10 minutes later we were being served by the SAME chef, so we basically got all the same jokes and tricks. The prices have also gone up and the original set menus are no longer there. Not sure I'll be going back unless I'm being treated.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“More about the tricks than the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Don't get me wrong the food was okay but for the price it's nothing spectacular, i have had better Japanese food at a fraction of the price. Benihana for me was more about the actual dining experience. Having the chef cook live in front of you on the hibachi grill and perform numerous tricks with the food. Worth a visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food with a smile :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I've been to benihanas probably 4 times now, once in their Chelsea branch the other times in their Piccadilly branch, straight away it's worth mentioning the Chelsea branch is more private and slightly more upper class, in Piccadilly it is chucking everyone is as quick as possible for turnover, in Chelsea they're slower and a tad more respectful, onto the food, it is a delight the main meal I think is around £20-£30 if I remember rightly this does include close to around 5-6 courses cooked infront of you, theyll cook you things that wonr typically interest you but you can taste how fresh and beautifully prepared it all
Is, which brings me to the best part of the evening at a benihanas, the atmosphere with the cooks , there aren't too many places like this in London where they cool your food in front of you some of the cooks are a little more lively than others, some will carefully chuck food for people to catch with their mouths or will jokingly chuck food into
Their hats, you will
Often see looks of envy from nearby table if your chef is getting all the attention lol :) food seems the same Between the two offers in London , the Chelsea branch has a much nicer relaxed vibe especially in the really neo like bar area, that Said the Piccadilly offering has te distinct advantage of being slap bang in central London hence why I've been their 3 times, note they do great deals for valentines and Christmas, something everyone in London should do don't miss it!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“food is bad.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

the food was bad, when you go there make sure you're not hungry, the only reason why we went there is because they cook in front of us which was very nice the chefs were professional and great.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benihana also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Benihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benihana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.