We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doing well, full for lunch midweek” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Franco's

Franco's
61 Jermyn St | St. James, London SW1Y 6LX, England
020 74992211
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,204 of 17,931 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: St James's
Transit: Green Park, St James's & Piccadilly tube stations are all 5 minutes walk away.
Description: Opened in 1946 in Mayfair, Franco's restaurant has been one of London's most popular Italian establishments ever since. It continues to offer local gourmets a tranquil oasis away from the buzz of the city. Set at the St James���s end of Jermyn Street, Franco's is fantastically located for the galleries, private clubs and hotels of the area. And the pre-theatre and afternoon tea menus are a delight. The restaurant���s character evolves throughout the day from the early morning breakfasts to laid-back lunches and romantic candlelit dinners in the evening. The elegant 1940���s-inspired d��cor is bright and modern, with light wood, off-white walls and comfy upholstered dining chairs. Franco's sumptuous Mediterranean menu has been developed by Head Chef Paulo Parlanti and showcases fresh seasonal produce in traditional and modern Italian dishes. Popular dishes include the duck breast with Castelluccio lentils; ossobucco ravioli with veal jus; and the classic tiramisu. Service is flawless and the wine list is a winner too.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Doing well, full for lunch midweek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Some good old fashioned Italian dishes prepared and served with panache. Not cheap, but the position and ambience make up for it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonPhillips, General Manager at Franco's, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear BrianP
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Franco’s.
We very much hope you return to visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    78
    27
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
“Amazing food & quality service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Came here with some friends last night, for a pre-theatre meal. The place wasn't too busy, as it was still relatively early & we got a decent table by the window.

I had the lobster with pasta & garlic and it was superb! I could have eaten another plate of it on the spot, but we had a Play to get to!

The wine was excellent & the service was quite simply brilliant. At one point a friend nearly poured some red wine into my slightly filled water glass, but the waitress was there just in time to stop it - impressive attention to detail!

Will definitely go back & it is ideally situated for west end pre-theatre food/drinks. BTW, we went onto see Chimerica, at the nearby Harold Pinter theatre, which was equally excellent!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonPhillips, General Manager at Franco's, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear JamesLox
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your last dining experience at Franco’s.
We’re so pleased to hear that had such an enjoyable time with us and had the pleasure of sampling one of our most popular classic dishes.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kindest Regards
Jason Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Food, style, ambiance, location....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

One of best places for a business lunch or receive some friends with style. The food, decor and atmosphere are great and then you can walk down Jermyn's Street to pick up some of the best men's clothing in town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonPhillips, General Manager at Franco's, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Jean-Paul88
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review on Franco’s. We’re delighted you enjoyed your last visit with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A really good Italian in the heart of London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Years ago this used to be a typical Italian snack bar and cafe but some time ago it was transformed into an attractive main room with some additional tables in the anteroom and much to the delight of smokers everywhere, some comfortable tables outside on Jermyn Street, just near the corner with St James`s. The staff are extremely professional and never fail to greet you when you arrive as if you were their long lost cousin. It`s a great Italian tradition and it never fails to please. Jason and Angus who are in charge are just the best hosts in London so if you do have to wait for food when the place is crowded they`ll never ignore you in the way some places do. They`ll listen and then do something. The food is very good indeed. It`s real Italian with lots of good pasta but much more sophisticated dishes including the dish of the day which I often go for because it is always a pleasant surprise. The wine list is well thought out and not too expensive. I really like this place - its people and its food. If you are looking for somewhere for lunch or supper in the St James`s area you won`t get better value and you won`t be disappointed. Oh, and if you do enjoy a good cigar, finishing off outside with a small espresso and a big panatella will crown your visit admirably.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonPhillips, General Manager at Franco's, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear SJ Norris,
Thank you for your recent review on Franco’s.
We are delighted to read your compliments and are pleased that we can continue to serve the people of St James’s since 1942.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kindest Regards
Jason Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very good indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice, meal nice wine an even better Sicilian Muscat than we had at Sale e Pepe's. The pasta was very nicely cooked. The table was a bit cramped buy we were not in the main restaurant. Well worth a visit, good service.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonPhillips, General Manager at Franco's, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Christopher F
Thank you for taking the time to review Franco’s on your last visit with us, we really appreciate your feedback.
Franco’s consists of four areas, outside, the bar, ground floor restaurant and private dining room, each has its own feel and personality.
Please do let us know in advance of your next visit where you would prefer to be seated and we will try our utmost to accommodate you.
Kindest Regards
Jason Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franco's also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Franco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franco's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.