We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See & be seen kinda place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cecconis

Cecconis
5a Burlington Gardens, London W1, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )
(020)-7434-1509
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cecconis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,511 of 16,877 restaurants in London
Price range: $26 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Cross street: Saville Row
Transit: Piccadilly Circus
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“See & be seen kinda place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

More about the buzz than anything else - and if that's what you want, you'll get plenty of it as this is a loud see and be seen type of restaurant. The food is reliably good but nothing spectacular. I've eaten here many times for both breakfast and lunch. This week I had the grilled swordfish which was nicely done.

But the hedge fund / private equity mafia in Mayfair come here mostly to be seen by others. Very common for power breakfast meetings where people want to be a bit more discreet than making a public statement over at the Wolseley - but I'd emphasize it is only a bit more discreet.

Neighbouring alternatives
The Italian food around the corner at Alloro is much more memorable in my view. And a better breakfast venue is Fortnum's on Jermyn Street.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    141
    138
    36
    24
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
york
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous buzzy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

There's always something going on here and people watching is the best fun. The food however does not disappoint and the service is good, whoever you are. Ask for a table by the window at the front and you will be on pole position.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have been to this place twice. Once for lunch at the weekend and once during the week and we ate at the bar. Both experiences were fabulous. I have eaten the escalope Milanese there which was succulent and buttery. And I have also had a mixed dish with samples of courses including pigeon and octopus. Brilliantly executed. A lovely place for couples, friends, family and business!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Jorgensen”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Disappointed. Like an Italian fastfood restaurant. All too fast waiting for the next guest to have your table. Food arrives before wine and other major mistakes.
Ferdinando

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We went there only because we had heard about it's reputation (Madonna and so on..) - anyway, Saturday night, table reserved weeks in advance. On arriving completely disappointed about the atmosphere. Very uncomfortable in every way, we sat next to the bar...although everywhere is next to the bar. The bar was buzzing and because of the bad acoustics we had to shout in order to have a conversation. Chairs very uncomfortable. Staff very stressed and poor service quality. The food was terrible in my opinion and certainly worse than in most other italian restaurants I know. We hated the place so much that we left as fast as we could after the main meal. Certainly we will never return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cecconis also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Cecconis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cecconis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.