We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wagamama - Covent Garden

Wagamama - Covent Garden
1 Tavistock Street, Covent Garden, London WC2E 7PG, England (Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square)
+44 (0)20 7836 3330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,557 of 17,998 Restaurants in London
Price range: $42 - $47
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fast Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

There's perhaps not much point in going into that much detail about the food; we all know what we're getting here, don't we? A better-than-average, wide range of Japanese dishes - the same for any Wagamama you come across regardless of location.

My 4 star rating is born out of the fact that they make the same amount of effort for lone diners as they would a group. A nice and well-appreciated touch when you're in London on a business trip on your own.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    142
    42
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Third visit.. would 100% go back for a 4th.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Amazing food, friendly service.
The only down side was that the wait was quite long. But the food was worth it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fine for young families and young people”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I went with the family on Mothering Sunday because we needed somewhere central and which my teenaged girls would enjoy. I was very impressed at first by the cleanliness, the friendly and helpful service, the speed of delivery and the presentation of food. It's a very family-friendly place. the tables are set out like a decent college canteen with benches and six places to a table. The green tea is free and a fresh fruit juice costs £3.50 with a large bottle of beer at about £6.00. The food isn't expensive and there's plenty of variety. There were plenty of young people there and the atmosphere is fine for the kind of place that it is. However, I have to say that the food isn't exactly what I really like. We shared a sushi for starters at £7.50 and it was interesting enough; there were 11 pieces and 3 pieces of smoked salmon - and the wassabi was very hot!! I had a bowl of chicken and pork (which was rather fatty) with noodles and veg in vegetable stock. There was plenty of it and I shouldn't really complain (except for the the fat) but there you go. Perhaps I should have had a curry.

I've said some good things and I've had reservations about it but I can honestly say that many young people would love it (both my girls did) and it won't cost them a lot. Children would also take to something on the menu as well so I'm not going to try to put anyone off. Perhaps I'll give it another try one day...but perhaps I won't.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Wagamama is always good value for money. The food was excellent, fast service - different dishes do appear unpredictably, but none the worse for that.
We even got a plate of free starter - no idea why. The pinot grigio was very drinkable and we all enjoyed the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Convenient location but service too slow.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The service was very slow compared to my previous visits. There was no queue at 5pm but by the time we left at just after 6 the queue was right up the stairs. The noodle dishes were fine but we did not enjoy the dumplings.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wagamama - Covent Garden also viewed

 

Been to Wagamama - Covent Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wagamama - Covent Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.