We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dim sum !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joy King Lau

Joy King Lau
3 Leicester St, London WC2H 7BL, England (Leicester Square / Shaftesbury Avenue)
(020)-7437-2629
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,050 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Leicester Square / Shaftesbury Avenue
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent dim sum !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Really good Dim Sum. I had lunch at this restaurant with a big group of friends and we had really good dim sum. It is a busy restaurant with many Asian which is a good sign of authentic food. Having lived in Asia my self I can say the food was good and authentic. Nothing else stands our in the restaurant the food is what you go for the rest is very standard.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    156
    40
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent dim sum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great dim sum, served piping hot, plus huge menu of Chinese dishes. Clean. Reasonable prices. Restaurant is a ways from Chinatown, so very few tourists (which is good). Most patrons are Chinese locals, which is reassuring, because the locals know the Chinese restaurant scene. May be difficult to find because it's on Leicester Street, which is not named on many London maps. Leicester St. borders Leicester Square on the western edge of the Square, a few steps from Lisle St.
Restaurant has 3 or 4 floors, each floor rather small, and when restaurant is crowded, seating can be tight. Place is mobbed on Sunday afternoon when large Chinese extended families show up. Highly recommended. We had dim sum lunch there 3 times during our 7-day London visit, which tells the story. Do not, I repeat, do not miss the mango pudding desert.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent Chinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

a little cosy Chinese resturant, not flashy, family like. With proper, ethntic taste. Belong to larger portion food! taste great! Few dishes takes long time to prepare and could be pre-order to make. The chinese "Tea", dumplings etc is very very well made! it starts from 11:30 to 4pm, then dinner is good, too. highly recommend the "crab in chinese wine"... to die for!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Reliable and good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I've been going to Joy King Lau for years. I was first taken there by a Chinese friend ages ago for an excellent dim sum lunch, and it's been a mainstay to pop in for dinner, if I'm around Chinatown, ever since.

The restaurant is quiet and civilised, the staff are pleasant and the food's good.

Let's get one thing straight: the service in this place is fine. The fact is that Chinese restaurants in London - and generally - are known for a somewhat abrupt manner. If you want amazing service you have to go high-end. I was told this by my Chinese friend years ago and have never had a problem, because I don't expect fawning waiters.

If you're complaining about Joy King Lau, try a meal at Wong Kei's on Wardour Street for a reality check and see how that fares by comparison.

If you're up for a blow-out, the set menus are good value. Always happy to recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“nice dim sum but the portion shrink”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I been going to dim sum at this restaurant for many time and the foods was good but since the last time I went all the dishes are shrink in to a smaller portion, now I think is not worth eating
there any more. the service was not to friendly at all, I don't know what is happening to this place.
the toilet is so small and need to re decorate, it look and feel like using public toilet, it been left like this for so many years already.
the only good thing is the foods still taste good but the rest, don't expect more of it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joy King Lau also viewed

 

Been to Joy King Lau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joy King Lau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.