We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“christmas party” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon to your Saves list
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Broadway, London SW19 1SD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #367 of 1,049 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“christmas party”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The Antoinette has been doing Christmas parties for some years. And they have deteriorated as the years have gone on. The food was quite adequate considering the amount of people. One glass of wine only included. If you wanted more wine or even a glass of water you had to go to the bar yourself to purchase it or get it. At the end of the meal all the glasses were cleared as you put them on the table empty. Even though the "disco" was going on later the jugs of water were also cleared away. Trying to get more water later on from a very busy bar was impossible. And the "waiters', who did not wait but only cleared, ignored any request for water.

The "music" when we arrived was so loud we couldn't hear each other speak. Everyone was eating so there was no dancing so why was it SO LOUD. This is when we wanted to talk to each other. When the meal had finished there was a "DJ" who just sat there and did nothing. What was the point? No chat no nothing to gee any one up to dance just synthetic noise. No tune. Not dance music. No wonder every one went home early.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison W, Guest Relations Manager at Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Aitch C,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am sorry that you felt that certain aspects of the Christmas event, did not meet with your expectations, and your valued comments have been brought to the attention of the General Manager.

Antoinette Wimbledon has been organising Christmas events for many years, and this year the number of bookings has increased, with numerous companies returning, based on their previous experience.

I understand that the water jugs were removed, when the tables were moved to clear the dance floor, and I apologise if yours was not replaced. A number of organisers have been spoken to regarding the DJ, and they have stated that the music was in keeping with the theme of the evening.

I hope very much that you will have the opportunity to attend another event of a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    105
    58
    26
    20
See reviews for
52
110
27
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Myself and a friend Stayed at the Antoinette for one night, and that was more than enough.

Over priced hotel , the rooms were basic just like travel lodge rooms. Staff were extremely rude, their customer service was rude.

From the moment we entered the hotel, to when we left the experience was the worst I have ever received. Staff moody, unhelpful and rude!

Would not recommend this hotel to anyone and will not be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison W, Guest Relations Manager at Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dearhiggy62,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, as all feedback is greatly valued, as it helps us strive to achieve the best service levels possible.

I was dissapointed to read your comment regarding customer care, as this is something that as you can see from previous reviews, is found to be of a high standard, and why many guests return on a regular basis. Please be assured that this has been discussed with the General Manager.

Our rates are extremely competitive for the area, and unlike a budget hotel, offer facilities such as hospitality tray, direct dial telephones, toiletries, free wi-fi access, and complimentary car parking.

I appreciate that you feel that you do not wish to return, but I hope that you will contact me so that I can personally look ater a future reservation, and restore your faith in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I have written this review after being woken up at 7 am by the noise from the room next door. The walls are paper thin and the traveller next to me likes music in particular Miley Cyrus. Mattress hard. The room is tiny. Definitely not worth the money.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison W, Guest Relations Manager at Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear HungryGP,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay, and I am sorry to learn of the issue you experienced as a result of noise from another guest, and for the inconvnenience this caused.

I would like to assure you that had you contacted a member of the Reception team, they would have been pleased to have resolved this issue.

Our Club Rooms represent excellent value for money, and as described are perfect for a one night stay. I hope you can appreciate that the quality of a mattress is an individual preference, and the hotel purchases these from Hypnos the only company to supply beds to the Royal Household.

I hope that you will choose to stay with us on a future occasion, and as such please do not hesitate to contact me so that I can personally look after your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

On various visits the problem has been toilets not flushing, showers with no hot water. Wedding parties playing loud music and lasting until at least midnight right beneath the room. The adjoining restaurant plays music way too loud you can barely hear each other speak.

Pokey little place overall.

The front overlooks a night club entrance so you can imagine what goes on out there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison W, Guest Relations Manager at Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear jimbledon,

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review, and I am sorry that on various visits to the hotel you appear to have experienced maintenance issues.

However, I am pleased to learn from checking our records that upon reporting, these were immediately rectified.

I have checked the room allocated to you this weekend, and I apologise for any inconvenience experienced, as a result of the residual noise from an event taking place in the hotel. It appears that when making your reservation through a booking site, a room with restrictions was selected at a preferential rate, and I am sorry if the site you used did not make this clear.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel, and I look forward to hearing from you so that I can personally look afte your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Whilst visiting our son and his wife for the weekend this was our first stay at the Antoinette Hotel in Wimbledon.The hotel was very clean and welcoming,staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them.The rooms were very clean and modern with a bright airy feel to them.No shortage of coffee or tea in the rooms I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone . Well Done Antoinette Keep it up

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the road outside is very busy and tends to be a little no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boissy aux cailles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The difference between this hotel and the norm in its class is the very friendly staff. There is a sort of genuine team empathy among them, and nothing was too much. The hotel is very well located,parking on site. Rooms are good and breakfast more than satisfactory. The restaurants in Wimbledon are varied and good and leaving the car leaves one free to use metro for central London.

Room Tip: Talk to the desk. Very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here 1 night while visiting universities in a London. Our room had 2 king size beds and we still had plenty of room for the suitcases and to walk around. It was clean and warm. Free parking and WIFi was an added bonus. Breakfast was the usual fayre the but eggs were freshly cooked whatever way you wanted them. All in all, good value for money in London.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon

Address: The Broadway, London SW19 1SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Best Value Hotel in London
#291 Business Hotel in London
#315 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wimbledon's largest hotel, is located within walking distance of Wimbledon Station and South Wimbledon Underground. Journey time to London is 15 minutes, making it an ideal base for business or leisure. All rooms have air conditioning, plasma television, and free wi-fi access. Other facilities include a cafe lounge, late food menu, roof garden, and function rooms. Well situated for the Wimbledon Tennis Championships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antoinette Hotel London
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.