We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely inn with beautifully appointed rooms. Close to The Heart of Notting Hill.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portobello House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Portobello House to your Saves list
Portobello House
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   225 Ladbroke Grove | Notting Hill, London W10 6HQ, England (Formerly Earl Percy Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely inn with beautifully appointed rooms. Close to The Heart of Notting Hill.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful little establishment for those wanting to be close to Notting Hill/Portobello Market. The staff are excellent and so welcoming. Rooms are comfortable and have all the necessary amenities. There's an excellent bar on the ground floor to enjoy a pint and watch the world go by. It's a short stroll to all the bars and restaurants that Notting Hill has to offer. Bus stop right outside where you can be whisked into central London with ease. Or it's a 3 Minute walk to Ladbroke Grove Tube Station. Really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    36
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
43
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Being local, we love to support a 'local' business, but ......
We booked a table for 4 tonight at 8.00pm. Walked into bar area and waited, and waited and waited (it wasn't that busy!) so we just sat ourselves down!
There were only 2 other diners, why did we have to attract someone's attention?
Service was very good once we got going!
Starters we tasty but minuscule! 3 of us had pork hock which we eventually found amongst the pickles! We've eaten here before and this portion felt like it was one portion of ham shared between 3! Salmon starter 'bland'!
Main course, burgers just ok! One ordered well done and one medium = both the same! Rabbit was lovely and so was Pork belly.
For a Tuesday night supper not worth the money on food, we think we saved money on the 2 for 1 cocktails albeit we only have 5 between the 4 of us!
Have had many a good meal here before but tonight very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limatad, Director of Sales at Portobello House, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are sorry your supper did not meet up to your expectations, we have a lot of very satisfied customers and most nights we are really busy . That night we had a new Sous Chef and it was his first shift in our kitchen . Recently we have had a good l review from Fay Maschler and AA Gill said 'as a new restaurant in Notting Hill we had cracked it'. Thank you very much for taking the time to write to us, we do hope you will return.
Best wishes
Louisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Superb value - a real find, walking distance from the shops, bars and clubs of Notting Hill. The decor is fresh and contemporary and everything feels new, clean and polished. The bar downstairs is really friendly and relaxed with cosy armchairs and an open fire and delicious food. The best part of all however is the service - everyone went out of their way to make us feel at home, offering lots of special extra touches. The hotel is great in itself and good value for money but it's the staff that make this place shine. Will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I had the absolute pleasure of staying 3 nights in this beautiful quaint boutique hotel.
The room was absolute luxury complimented by quality linen. i had a delicios meal and drink by the fire in Percy`s bar.
It wasnt the luxury or the meals that made this place fabulous it was the outstanding welcoming service from every staff member.
Carlo one of the owners couldn`t be more obliging.
I thoroughly recommended this place and will be back.
Kate

Room Tip: stay in the Percy roomwith the four poster bed you won`t regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Truly a great bargain for London. I recently stayed two nights and was very pleased. The staff couldn't have been nicer and the room was comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was good and the bar scene was hip but relaxed. It is easy to spend a lot in London and to get little in return. Just the opposite at Portobello House.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I had meetings in London and stayed here overnight alone. What a fantastic welcome from everyone. I felt so looked after and nothing was too much trouble.

The room, and restaurant food were also excellent. Really looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We rented a flat in Chesterton Road a few minutes walk from this pub so it became our local during our two week stay. Due to a week of snow and freezing cold, we felt this was a good nearby place to have dinner even though there are cheaper places further away in Portobello Road.
The staff were always friendly and efficient, even when there was another table of about 20 who arrived soon after us.
The menu was just right, not too fancy so the burger choice kept the fussy offspring aged 12 and 15 happy, whilst some more adventurous dishes kept the adults happy. The puddings were too good to resist especially the crumble.House wine was also pretty good. The Sunday lunch roasts are fantastic, especially the chicken which was huge!
I liked the atmosphere such as a cosy fire, black and white silent movies in the background and lots of people who looked liked Londoners not tourists!
I cannot comment on the hotel rooms though !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portobello House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello House

Address: 225 Ladbroke Grove | Notting Hill, London W10 6HQ, England (Formerly Earl Percy Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portobello House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Portobello House in Notting Hill, Hotel, Bar & BistroThe Historic Landmark that is the chic Portobello House Hotel has 12 brand new totally re-designed charming boutique bedrooms, with a Felliniesque cocktail bar and gourmet bistro. Portobello house welcomes people from all around the world with a friendly smile and a complimentary glass of bubbly or a famous Portobello House Cocktail. It is situated in Notting hill near the famous "Portobello Road market" with all its colourful buzz and artistic counter culture. Take a leisurely walk to nearby elegant Kensington Palace gardens, once the home of Princess Diana, then a stroll through Hyde Park to the Royal Albert Hall for a concert. With a good night's sleep in our wonderful Millbrook beds you will wake up in one of the most unique, eclectic and fun parts of London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Portobello House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portobello House Hotel London
Portobello House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portobello House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.