We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip-off drinks” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Portobello House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Portobello House to your Saves list
Portobello House
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   225 Ladbroke Grove | Notting Hill, London W10 6HQ, England (Formerly Earl Percy Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 535 London B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Rip-off drinks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We went on the occasion of a friend's birthday who had hired half of the space in the bar area. Fairly run-of-the-mill trendy pub ambience, but £8.00 for a glass of ordinary Sauvignon Blanc is eye-wateringly expensive, even by the standards of some far more salubrious establishments. Put in context, a glass of Prosecco cost £6.50, and £9.50 for NV champagne. Cannot comment about the food, as had, except to say that the chocolate brownies were top drawer.Avoid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    36
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
43
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stylish small cozy Hotel with Nice rooms, friendly staff and very good value for money. Excellent service from the very helpful staff. I recommend this Hotel sincerely and My advice is clear - u cant get better value in London. Only thing that could be considered as negative was the lack of elevators but that was compensated by the colourful wallpapers and beautiful bathrooms. So go for it if you seek a nice stay without hassle and a big hole in your wallet. Best regards Leif N <3

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hovik, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We travelled to London for a weekend to celebrate my birthday. Having previously lived in London for many years, I was looking for a hotel that felt like you were a part of the buzz in Nottinghill rather than observing from outside in a larger, more anonymous hotel. When we arrived from the airport the friday, our group of friends instantly felt like sitting down relaxing in the bar/bistro before checking in. The bar was starting to fill up with Londoners stopping for a well deserved friday afternoon drink with friends and we instantly fell into the London wibe.
The owner of the hotel was very helpful and offered the perfect concierge service with regards to booking tables and advicing on bars locally.
We had booked a room with a fourposter bed which was both spacious and beautifully decorated. We were given a enterance code to the hotel and were able to enter at which ever time we needed in the early hours of the morning. our room where facing the side street and we had no noticable noice at all. Even with the hotelroom window open at night.

If you want a cosy, nicely decorated hotel close to Portobello rd and the Nottinghill vibe, this is perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sidestreet if you are worried about noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We've only just returned from a fabulous overnight stay here.

The hotel has recently been refurbished to a high standard - the bed linens are superb, the bathrooms fresh, clean, modern and stylish and I loved the bubble lights !

The staff are very helpful and welcoming and the chef deserves special praise for a wonderful lunch and dinner he cooked for us in the bistro. This bistro is located on the ground floor with the hotel rooms up above - all very quirky, boutique and lovely. Lovely ambience.

Yes, it's a little way out of London but it's only a few stops on the Hammersmith Lane and an easy three minute walk from the station. Bus stop straight across the road taking you into London.

Thank you to Carlos and Louisa for making our time there so pleasant. We will be back when we can.

Helen and Mark

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hovik, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Being used to staying at business hotels, I did not quite know what to expect from this boutique style hotel. But after staying here for a weekend, it is very easy to describe what I feel about the place: we very much enjoyed the stay, and we would very much like to return.

Previous reviews pretty much describe what is to be said about the facilities as such, but I would only like to mention two aspects mentioned earlier:

1) Rooms facing Ladbroke Grove are noisy indeed. We didn't have any problems with this however. If we had, we would simply close the window and turned on aircon.
2) You do not need to ring on a doorbell to get in after the reception has closed. We got a pin code for the entrance lock and managed to get in all by ourselves:)

Thumbs up for the good atmosphere in the bistro downstairs, by the way.

We will return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

A friend referred me to Portobello House on 225 Ladbroke Grove (Kensington & Chelsea Borough of London) after I complained of dying of near boredom in a business hotel close to The City, where I had meetings scheduled. It was a bit of a long taxi ride from the Tower Bridge area in the pre-Olympic traffic and while stuck in my taxi, was beginning to think I had made a mistake transferring - until I finally stepped into the "reception" area of the boutique hotel: "Percy Bar". It was brightly lit (with huge windows), black-boarded, cozy bar-restaurant with a really friendly bunch of people working the bar-hotel-restaurant, with great upbeat music. I never looked back. The rooms were fresh, very comfortable and cozy (and with pretty good wi-fi) with enough space for my bags and shopping. The resto "Percy" was a great place to spend evenings and I tried to hang out there as much as I could. The food was always very, very good and Chef Jan, originally South African, always made it a point to see if everyone was good, and to stop and chat for awhile. Their wine list and bar? Very good! Service? Excellent. Location? 2 minute walk to the nearest Underground, and a 5 minute walk to the fun Portabello Market and very close to Notting Hill, Kensington, Hyde Park, etc. Bus stops all over the place as well. As I was waiting in "Percy" for my last ride to Heathrow, the sun was shining, reggae music playing and I was thinking to myself, "This is maybe as close as you can get to being in the tropics in London... Music, food, light, warm, friendly smiles... ". This is a good place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street to avoid some of the street traffic noise. Happily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swede in Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is what we in Sweden called "smultronställe", which means a wonderful place - so wonderful that you want to keep it as a secret, just for yourself.
This hotel is perfect if you want to go to London and relax; meet nice people, eat good food, soak up the atmosphere. And if you want to do some shopping, Portobello market is just around the corner. But you do not. You just want to sit in the bar/bistro/restaurant downstairs and see the world go by.
Everything is topp-class: friendly and helpful staff, good, fresh food and a nice drink list with something for everyone (an extra plus for the London fizz - prosecco with elderflower. Yummy!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portobello House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello House

Address: 225 Ladbroke Grove | Notting Hill, London W10 6HQ, England (Formerly Earl Percy Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portobello House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Portobello House in Notting Hill, Hotel, Bar & BistroThe Historic Landmark that is the chic Portobello House Hotel has 12 brand new totally re-designed charming boutique bedrooms, with a Felliniesque cocktail bar and gourmet bistro. Portobello house welcomes people from all around the world with a friendly smile and a complimentary glass of bubbly or a famous Portobello House Cocktail. It is situated in Notting hill near the famous "Portobello Road market" with all its colourful buzz and artistic counter culture. Take a leisurely walk to nearby elegant Kensington Palace gardens, once the home of Princess Diana, then a stroll through Hyde Park to the Royal Albert Hall for a concert. With a good night's sleep in our wonderful Millbrook beds you will wake up in one of the most unique, eclectic and fun parts of London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, EasyToBook, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Portobello House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portobello House Hotel London
Portobello House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portobello House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.