We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific location, good value option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LSE Northumberland House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added LSE Northumberland House to your Saves list
LSE Northumberland House
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   8a Northumberland Avenue | Trafalgar Square, London WC2 N5BY, England (Westminster)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 697 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Terrific location, good value option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed here for one night only, but had stayed for one night on various previous occasions. The quality of the accommodation is consistent - the rooms are quite small and the furniture is pretty basic. Having said that, they have always been clean with good natural light and modern en-suite facilities. These rooms offer good value for money and the location is terrific - two minutes walk from Trafalgar Square.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    97
    31
    14
    11
See reviews for
32
61
48
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed here for one night as I couldn't stay with my friend, so i just wanted somewhere cheap but couldn't stand the thought of being in a hostel for the night. I can't fault the location. It's easy to find and pretty much opposite trafalgar square! So it's well serviced by the tube but being a previous Londoner, I ended up catching the bus everywhere or walking. There's a tesco (supermarket) down the street so if you need a snack etc, it's close by.

The room itself was pretty basic. It's a typical, I guess, uni accommodation. A bed, a desk, a chair and a bathroom. They provided towels, which was a welcome surprise. The bed was a little lumpy. I've slept in worse, but it's not the most comfortable mattress. The bathroom was tiny though. It's literally a wetroom with a toilet and sink. I am quite small but even I had to do a little twisting and turning to avoid standing in a puddle leftover from the shower. Still I think it's not bad. There's no TV or anything, but if you are going to London for a holiday I would think you probably don't need one!

Overall I would stay here again if I couldn't stay at my friend's place.

Room Tip: Maybe away from main road, I was lucky in that I was away from a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Check in/out was extremely easy. Internet wasn't working but it was late so I didn't talk to the staff about it. They held our luggage until our flight. My room was loud with what sounded like flushing toilets all night. Overall decent sleep and I would stay again. Great location for sightseeing.

Room Tip: Room 803 - It seemed that I was hearing all of the plumbing throughout the building in my room all n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest US
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have stayed at LSE Northumberland House each year for about 8 years. The location 1/2 block from Trafalgar is great and, for London, the price is very reasonable. It's close to museums, opera, theatres, a Tesco for food and miscellaneous items, places to eat, and a pleasant walk to South Bank. Staff are very nice and helpful. The community kitchens have everything needed from items to make a cup of tea/coffee to ample fridge/freezer storage and equipment for preparing meals. There is often spoiled food in the fridge that previous guests have left. The bed is OK--fairly comfortable, two pillows, but a narrow, single mattess. Towels and bed linens are always clean. The all-in-one-bathroom pods installed in rooms to make them into en suite rooms are very SMALL. Shower curtains could use magnets or weights so the curtains don't cling. There is no Internet access for anyone who travels without a laptop, smart phone, etc. There are frequently minor problems with a room--burned out light bulb, missing lamp, etc., but staff are usually helpful in solving the problem. Some of the bulbs in a lift were not working for at least 5 days. I have stayed at 3 other LSE residence halls over the years.

Room Tip: There are about 8 steps from the front door up to the front desk. There is a small wheel chair lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We found the location excellent, a lovely tree lined oasis, you feel you are really in the heart of London - between Trafalgar Sq and the river Thames. Literally 5 mins walking distance from Charing Cross Station. From arriving to leaving the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was on the eighth floor at the front with an extra large disabled bathroom. We were not disturbed by any noises during the night even with the famous pub opposite which closed around 11.30pm. The bed was fairly comfortable with very clean bedding. The towels were replaced every day except Sundays. Extremely good value for money

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My single room was comfortable with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The ensuite was small but adequate and the towels were changed everyday. I can thoroughly recommend this venue as it is central for so much sightseeing. I was able to walk to theatres and galleries with ease and cross the river to the South Bank. The kitchen was well equipped with free tea and coffee. It also had an ironing board and iron for use. There is a lift which makes life easier. The staff were friendly and very helpful. I will go back again and would highly recommend this accommodation. First class!

Room Tip: Near top of bulding and near a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a student dorm in London School of Business. Only offer for visitor accommodation during school holidays. I was there for a week during September and enjoyed the proximity to many attractions.

Traveller must note that this is not a hotel and only a dorm. Rooms and beds are comfortable but carpet needs good cleaning. Major down side is the toilet, which is a portable toilet fixed inside the room, and rooms were cleaned only 1 day for the whole week we stayed there. Facilities include laundry, shared kitchen, left baguage service.

Overall, great location (right next to trafalgar square) and good price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Westminster
Club Quarters, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#179 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
LSE Bankside House
LSE Bankside House
#583 of 1,054 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#60 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,219 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LSE Northumberland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Northumberland House

Address: 8a Northumberland Avenue | Trafalgar Square, London WC2 N5BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 697 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Northumberland House 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northumberland House provides great value self-catered accommodation in a magnificent Grade II listed building just off Trafalgar Square.The accommodation is perfectly placed for all of the tourist attractions in central London- theatres, museums, galleries, Covent Garden and Regent Street are all within easy walking distance.With its historic building, great location, affordable prices and modern facilities (including en-suite throughout), Northumberland House is one of the most attractive places to stay in central London ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your LSE Northumberland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London School Of Economics Northumberland House Hotel London
LSE Northumberland House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LSE Northumberland House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.