We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, tidy and well organised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LSE Northumberland House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added LSE Northumberland House to your Saves list
LSE Northumberland House
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   8a Northumberland Avenue | Trafalgar Square, London WC2 N5BY, England (Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 662 Specialty Lodging in London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean, tidy and well organised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night and found the venue central and easy to find. Odd entrance arrangement with me and all successive guests confused by requirements - must push the button on the pedestal in the street and when the speaker beeps and the light flashes, then take the few steps forward to the door and pull door handle to find which one the virtually invisible front desk reception has opened for you. There's no speech from the pedestal. Once inside up the steps to the reception.

The hotel reception staff were great and showed me to my room and the upgrade I enquired about. The corridors were lovely and clean and well decorated. The single room was fine; clean and tidy. The upgraded room on top floor was not to much more and included the widest bed I've ever seen and a few comfy chairs and smart work desk. I didn't need to but upgraded anyway... why not for a bit of fun!

Found that the ensuite was a plastic cubicle pod thing with a shower and sink included. A bit small but quite acceptable given the room rate/value.

After returning from my night out I found that while there was tea and coffee provided, the room seemed to be missing a kettle and cups. Too late (cough early!) to ask at reception.

Lovely comfy firm bed and very pleasant nights sleep.

Thank you LSE Northumberland Avenue. I shall be back again. Affordable, clean and very comfortable.

Time to get up and try the plastic shower pod!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    88
    29
    14
    11
See reviews for
29
52
47
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Sorry to have to say this, but this accommodation was a dissapointment. We paid £90 ($140) in advance for a double ensuite. The bathroom is as small as possible. When you sit on the WC your feet are in the shower - I'm not joking! There was no TV and the TV in the lounge was out of order. There was no breakfast included and the so-called communal kitchen was locked and our door pass would not open it. So for the LSE to call this a self-catering accommodation is not correct.

The room itself was large but dirty. The windows were filthy and the frames, cornices and the top of the bathroom 'pod' were covered with dirt. Previous occupants had thrown trash on top of the pod. The double bed was two single beds pushed together with nothing keeping them in place so you could easily slip between the mattresses at night if you weren't careful.

I fully respect the aims of the LSE, but this dirty establishment at these prices is not doing it any favours.

Room Tip: The Sherlock Holmes Pub and Ship and Shovell Pub are both nearby. They both serve real ale and are r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horwich Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Another great experience and pleasantly surprised to be allocated a twin room, (520) lots of space and a very large bathroom with disabled access.
As most people, including myself, have stated, it's got to be the best possible locations for tourist London, in walking distance of most theatres and most attractions.
I have a bus pass and could visit anywhere else using that, I recommend the No. 15 bus for trips to the Tower Of London, St Paul's, Tate Modern and the No 9 for the Albert Hall, Science, Natural History and V & A, Park Lane, Hyde Park.
The only possible complaint I have about the accommodation is that it was too warm, though I find that in most places I stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORK, UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is the 3rd time I have booked and stated at LSE NH. It is just great. Price you cannot fault and the venue is great too. I have always booked room only, which are spacious with bed, side table, desk and wardrobe together with en suite facilities. We called the en suite The Tardis. Small and compact with shower, toilet and basin. Great fun and good for a laugh. Staff have always been friendly and helpful. Just 3 mins walk to Trafalgar Square, Charing Cross, Embankment. What more can you ask for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

It's always hard to find accommodation in Central London. This is indeed one of my favourites.
I used to study at LSE and lived in LSE High Holborn Residence. I wanted to book HH but it's too affordable that it's full so I booked here. It's slightly more expensive than HH but it's still great value for money. 1 min to Trafalgar Square/ Charing Cross/ Embankment station. Its location is simply impeccable.
It is a student hall so you can't expect much facilities in addition to a bed and a decent shower (really nice in student standard). But for the money you're paying and its location you should not complain. It's an excellent option if you come to London and stay in a room alone because it has a lot of single rooms and its rate is lower than that of most of the B&B/ cheap hotel private single rooms/ double in central London.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Excellent accommodation for young travelers and backpackers. it's okay for families as well as it is very friendly for older and younger generations, but the rooms may be a bit small for some.

The location and the cost are what really put this venue at the top.

Its 2 minutes walk from Trafalgar Square, and I'd wager there isn't anything closer to the heart of London at this price and quality.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed here the middle of September. Arrived around 9.30am, which was earlier than the check in time. Girl at the desk was happy to give us the key to the luggage room which was on the same floor. This was great as we wanted to get out quickly and enjoy London and not have to trail around our cases!
Came back around 4ish to get sorted into our room. The guy at the desk was extremely helpful gave us our key card and we took the lift to our floor! Our room was fantastic, basic studenty sort of room, nothing special but was huge! Had two single beds which turned out to be very comfy. Toilet/shower room was very very small but that didn't matter to us. Did the job! Was clean which was the main thing. Lighting was great as well. Had a desk in room as well and we had a front facing room onto the road leading to trafalgar square. If you are a light sleeper like myself you might wake up and hear some noise like I did at 2/3am but I was in central london near a busy area of nightlife so i didnt really mind!
Overall, if you are looking for a cheap stay in london (we stayed only 1 night), definitely go here! It's brilliant if you are just going sight seeing and not going to be in the room alot! And even when you are its fantastic you have plenty of room to move about. Right beside trafalgar square, the mall, downing street, hyde park and is within walking distance to piccadilly circus/oxford street if you don't mind a 15/20 minute walk! Tiger Tiger is amazing for food and cocktails, also Planet Holywood is near too. Covent garden was also 10/15 minutes walk the opposite way, as well as a few cinemas at Leicester Square :) Would 100% recommend especially for younger people who can't afford the London hotel prices!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LSE Northumberland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Northumberland House

Address: 8a Northumberland Avenue | Trafalgar Square, London WC2 N5BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square , Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 662 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Northumberland House 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northumberland House provides great value self-catered accommodation in a magnificent Grade II listed building just off Trafalgar Square.The accommodation is perfectly placed for all of the tourist attractions in central London- theatres, museums, galleries, Covent Garden and Regent Street are all within easy walking distance.With its historic building, great location, affordable prices and modern facilities (including en-suite throughout), Northumberland House is one of the most attractive places to stay in central London ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your LSE Northumberland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London School Of Economics Northumberland House Hotel London
LSE Northumberland House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LSE Northumberland House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.