We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we hoped for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza County Hall London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza County Hall London to your Saves list
Park Plaza County Hall London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Addington Street, London SE1 7RY, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #105 of 1,066 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not what we hoped for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Location good, nothing to say about that. Unfortunatly the hotell didn´t live up to our expactations. When you stay at a hotel one expects some basics yo be covered, among others the cleaning. On our first night when we were preparing to go to bed we discovered that the bedlinen were blood spotted, also the cleaning staff missed the previous guests slipper under the bed. To wait for the elevators took forever, it was just to few of them to accommodate all of the guests, especially in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Ch0da,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor, I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to expectations. I hope that all the troubles that you experienced within your hotel room were corrected straight away to your satisfaction.

I sympathise greatly with you about our lifts, indeed in the morning especially, they can take a long time to make their way to a specified floor. I hope they did not cause you any delays.
I hope your experience does not stop you from thinking about choosing Park Plaza County Hall on your next trip.

Kind regards,

Brad Werb

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,020
    1,111
    240
    71
    48
See reviews for
1,448
903
121
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Awesome accomodation, close to many main attractions. Lovely helpful staff and a wonderful concierge. We had a great time at this hotel as a family of four. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The complimentary laundry facilities were wonderful with the amount of washing kids can create! The restaurant and breakfast provided wonderful meals. We can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Superb. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for the awesome review. Your kind words have been shared with the team and thank you for taking the time to mention the great job by the reception team and concierge.

The complimentary laundry facilities are very pop were wonderful with all our guests and we agree its a great facility to have when traveling with kids.

When your back in London we do hope we get a chance to welcome you back to the hotel

Kind Regards
Andre Read-Kontou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Two girlfriends and I stayed in this hotel while on a holiday to London. We found the location to be excellent with great tube access and easy walking (for us, though we are good walkers) to the London Eye, Westminster and Parliament. We also walked to Buckingham Palace and Harrods though those were longer treks. Having a Starbucks (for people who love coffee and didn't always find great options in London) nearby was nice. The room had good amenities including a refrigerator, hot water kettle, teas and coffee, and in-room safe. We had a small problem with the room (closet light would not go out) and staff were quickly attentive to our need for a repair. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Deal rebeccam2565,

Its a delight to read that you and your friends had a great stay with us and enjoyed the room and local areas.

I hope you had a great holiday as well.

Kind Regards
Andre Read-Kontou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Only 5 mins walk from Westminister and the London eye- so very central. The staff are very helpful and friendly and go out of their way to help out. The bedrooms are comfortable . The executive studio is very handy for a family and there is plenty of room in it. The room was very clean and the bathroom etc was fine. The food in the Italian restaurant was good and reasonably priced-special 2 course meal deal. wouldn't bother paying the extra £35 per night to use the Carlson lounge as it is very small and the breakfast is limited. There are a lot of places around to have breakfast if you are on a room only rate. The hotel doesnt have a cosy atmosphere and is quite streamlined but the staff are well trained and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear maire_10,

Thank you very much for your review on here, on behalf of the team i very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you managed to take full advantage of our fantastic location. I look forward to letting the team know of your kind words.

I am glad that you found everything to your satisfaction and that we were able to provide well priced meals in the restaurant.

I’m sorry that you did not feel that you got your money’s worth within the executive lounge and that it would not stop you from thinking of going with us again if you were to come back to London.

We hope to be seeing you again soon,

Kind regards

Brad Werb

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed here on our current trip. The first time we received a complimentary room upgrade which was nice.

When we checked in today we received a complimentary upgrade (again) to a room with London Eye view. Whilst we were out for dinner at the in-house restaurant, our bed was turned down, rubbish removed, kitchenette cleaned etc, even though we had only checked in a few hours earlier!

Would recommend staying here rather than the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge (where we have also stayed this trip), as the staff seem to be more attentive and interested in improving your experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Stuart O

Thank you very much for your positive impressions Park Plaza County Hall. We try to really meet all the wishes of our guests. Best wishes from the entire team at Park Plaza County Hall and we invite you to visit us again very soon!

Kind regards,

Blessing Tavaya
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Great staff, great room, great view, great location - all great! Booked the PP County Hall when my usual property was subjected to next door construction, and glad I moved. The County Hall staff was superb, endlessly helpful and pleasant. I loved my room with a view (see photos) - paid extra for the view and it was worth every penny. I kept the shades opened at night just to keep my eye on the Eye. The only caveat is this: the PP County Hall is definitely "family friendly." There are lots and lots of families and lots and lots of kids - at breakfast, in the lobby, in the elevators and in the halls. Yes, it's IS possible to do business in the hotel but the frantic family chaos can be a bit off-putting if you're trying to focus... By the way, I was told that the rare multicolored night light show on the Eye was in celebration of Gay Pride day. Glad I had a front row seat for the rainbow.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
SantaFeB

Thank you for the great feedback following your recent stay with us at Park Plaza County Hall. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our service, facilities and most importantly the smaller details that set us apart from other hotels. I do hope that you will come and stay with us again in the near future soon.

Kind regards,

Blessing Tavaya
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJUBLJANA, SLOVENIA, EUROPE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed in this hotel because we needed to be close to Waterloo Station, a main station for the trains to south-west (Windsor, Hampton Court Palace, Kew Gardens etc.). I would otherwise never choose this unattractive location.

The hotel, however is very decent but with a mediocre desing and lack of any charisma. We had a junior suite (with extra sofa, microwave, coffe machine and basic cups, plates etc., probably very useful for families) on upper floors with a view over Waterloo Station. The room and the hotel in general was very quite and the sleep quality excellent. The hotel was clean, the employees efficient and nice. The bar near the reception is mediocre, there is practically no lobby or reception area where one could sit for a minute without being forced to order a drink. The drink in the hotel bar is overpriced.

In sum, there are many hotels in that price range (300 GBP per night, reserved through Expedia) in London in a more attractive location. Plus side is definitelly the cleaniness, quiteness, at least on floor 13, and the professional staff.

Room Tip: Take a room on upper floors with a view, not couryard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
GANESHA

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback following your visit to Park Plaza County Hall.
I am delighted to note that you gave us top marks for sleep quality, service and cleanliness as these are clearly very important factors when selecting a hotel. I believe our prices are very competitive compared to similar hotels in London. I realise there is much choice when visiting the capital, but am glad you ended up choosing.

On behalf of the team, we thank you again and look forward to welcoming you.

Kind regards,

Blessing Tavaya
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza County Hall London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza County Hall London

Address: 1 Addington Street, London SE1 7RY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#32 Spa Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
#87 Luxury Hotel in London
#93 Family Hotel in London
#96 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza County Hall London 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza County Hall is conveniently located on the south side of the River Thames near Waterloo Station and is next to London's County Hall, home to several attractions, including the London Sea Life Aquarium. The hotel is within minutes of a number of local attractions, including the London Eye (walking distance), Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. Our London accommodation features modern guest rooms, six well-equipped meeting rooms with natural daylight, Restaurant & Bar, an Executive Lounge and a Fitness Centre. Choose Park Plaza County Hall and see what makes us one of the top London Waterloo hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza County Hall London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza County Hall London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Park Plaza County Hall London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza County Hall London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.