We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely treat.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza County Hall London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza County Hall London to your Saves list
Park Plaza County Hall London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Addington Street, London SE1 7RY, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #105 of 1,066 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A lovely treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

This was a great treat and a very nice hotel.
We arrived and had an internally facing room, so we paid £15 and upgraded to an Executive Suite. This meant a better view, a living area, coffee machine and generally more space.
It was a great size, was modern and clean - all you want. It is the nicest hotel I have stayed in.
Service is good and the choice for breakfast was decent and regularly refreshed. It did get very busy and we had to wait a while to be seated, many people were not happy with that.
All in all a great hotel. I would recommend it and may revisit or check out some of the others in the London chain.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Bigboybrowner

Thank you very much for choosing Park Plaza County Hall and for taking the time to post your positive experience here in London.

I am delighted you enjoyed the space and views from your Executive Studio room, these are really spacious with excellent facilities.

I am sorry you found breakfast busy. As with many busy city centre hotels, we do experience busy periods in the morning which impacts on breakfast. We have worked around this by proactively informing guests to come down early for breakfast and also through posters advising of peak times to avoid. I understand this may have been unsuitable for you but I am pleased the breakfast offering was worth the wait.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Blessing Tavaya

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,024
    1,115
    241
    71
    48
See reviews for
1,454
903
121
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We went to this hotel in November, for a three night pre-Christmas break in London, family of four. It provides a service that it was exactly designed for...........simple clean comfortable accommodation at an affordable price.

We had a two bedroom suite........please note the second bed is converted out of a lounge area. So a sofa bed for the children, not that they minded. The rooms are clean with a small kitchen if needed - kettle, microwave, fridge, iron.

Location of this hotel could not have been better. Views of the London Eye and Big Ben and walking distance to all the site seeing that your heart could desire. Saves on travel costs.

Top tips -

If you eat in the restaurant they do provide a discount voucher. Bring it on the night you eat, they only redeem this voucher on the night and not at check out time.

Rise early for breakfast or after nine o'clock as at peak times you have to do the good old fashioned British queuing system. However the longest we had to wait was twenty minutes.

If looking for the good old fashioned English pub life, find somewhere outside of the hotel........Red Lion perhaps.........the hotel bar has no character, however the staff are very attentive.

If contacted to upgrade your room for £150 don't bother we where put in the room we would of been upgraded too anyway.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
W_A_M75

Thank you for taking the time to post this review following your recent stay with us at Park Plaza County Hall. The team and I are delighted you have found our location, facilities and services up to a high standard. This is always our intention, and I am pleased to hear that you have had a most enjoyable stay with us.

Availability permitting, we are always willing to upgrade our guests to make their stay more special, and I am again pleased to see you enjoyed this very genuine gesture.

On behalf of the team at Park Plaza County Hall, thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Blessing Tavaya

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Lincs
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed at the Park Plaza for just one night on a theatre trip break. (The Commitments excellent show) - was so impressed. Lovely spacious room with great facilities and a super view. Lovely comfortable bed and so unbelievably quiet considering the location. Everything was clean and pristine and the check in staff very pleasant and helpful.

We slept so well that we turned up at the very last knockings for breakfast (felt a bit guilty) however - no one made a fuss and everything was as fresh as it would have been at the start of service. Really nice breakfast and great restaurant staff.

We do one or two theatre breaks a year and will definitley make this our first choice in the future. So glad my daughter recommended it.

10/10 all round for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
soozywoo1956

Thank you for such a wonderful review!

Indeed our guests are what matters the most to us. We genuinely love to pamper them and it is most pleasing for us to hear that we have fulfilled and exceeded your expectations. Our rooms, being quadruple - glazed, are eerily quiet and I am delighted you had a restful night's sleep, what with all the traffic in London!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next theatre break and hope you will stay for more than the one night.

Kind regards,

Blessing Tavaya

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

stayed multiple times, pristine rooms and fantastic views. treat returning customers especially well with exec lounge access and free upgrades - something to definatley gain points for! cant flaw it
also right next to london eye and attractions - within walking distance to covent gardens and buses running to victoria station and oxford circus etc from the corner! also waterloo tube a 2 min walk and subway/starbucks etc just down the road for breakfast if wanted

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Bethany G,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review following your return visit to Park Plaza County Hall. We are relentlessly working hard to maintain and improve on the very high standards of service our guests have come to expect, and I am thrilled you have found us excellent in this aspect. I am delighted too you enjoyed the free upgrade and access to the Executive Lounge; we do try our level best to look after our returning and regular guests!

Thanks again and I trust we will see you soon!

Kind regards,

Blessing Tavaya

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Just spent a two night break at the Park Plaza County Hall, and from start to finish it was outstanding. The service was faultless, with such attention to detail! All the staff were so lovely, polite and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel was excellent and room was fantastic. My husband and i have travelled the world and have never had such an outstanding hotel and staff in all those years. Will highly recommend and definitely stay again. Thank you all at Park Plaza County Hall.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
327LJG

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us at The Park Plaza County Hall.

I am absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and found that all aspects of your stay met your expectations. I have passed on your words of praise to our excellent team at the hotel all appreciate your feedback. We are proud to be part of such a memorable experience.

Please come back and visit again soon!

Kind regards,

Blessing Tavaya

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester/Sheffield
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Park Plaza County Hall for 2 nights for our anniversary in January. We had stayed at the neighbouring Park Plaza last year and enjoyed it so thought we'd try this one.

Upon arrival, staff were friendly and attentive. However, we had booked a double room but were asked if we would 'mind a twin-room'. We politely said that we would mind - this was not an issue and were surprisingly upgraded to a much better executive studio with views over Waterloo station and the shard.

We did have to pay a £50 deposit though on arrival, but are still unsure why. When we were checking out, it seemed that other guests had not paid a deposit, so we were left questioning why we had to?

The studio was great - an (in my opinion) extremely comfortable bed and a lovely bathroom with bathtub and shower. Excellent for relaxing after a day touring around London!

The location is great and would not stay anywhere other than the Park Plaza hotels - especially County Hall and Westminster Bridge.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hgrant-smith


Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Park Plaza County Hall. I am delighted you chose us to come and celebrate you special occasion, and I can see you were not disappointed either!

I am glad you enjoyed the city skyline. The hotel boasts excellent views of Waterloo and The Shard on one side and Parliament (Big Ben) and The London Eye on the other.

The £50 security deposit was only asked to allow you the convenience of charging incidentals back to the room during your stay, and then pay just once on checkout. Alternatively, guests may prefer to pay as they go along, in which case we do not take an authorisation. I am sorry if this was not clearly explained to you when you checked in, but would like to assure you this was nothing untoward.

We certainly hope to see you again when you visit London and best wishes from the team at Park Plaza County Hall.

Kind regards,

Blessing Tavaya

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights in December, Arrived at the hotel at 7AM after 15 hours flight from Bangkok, we did not expect to be able to check in that early (you know how most of the hotel wont allow you to get a room until certain time) But to our surprised, we were told they had a room ready for us. Executive studio room was BIG, our young child had her own "room" in the sofa converted bed and we had ours plus a small pantry with microwave and sink (this is a bonus when you have a young kid with you!). To top all that, James from front desk learnt it was my birthday, he sent up a bottle of wine :) AND one more thing, They left walker's butter cookies everyday together with the nesspresso coffee, My gal loves it so much and she wrote a note to thank the cleaning lady for it (shame on me for forgetting her name). GUESS WHAT! the lady left her with a HUGE plate of that very cookies, such a sweet gesture! The day after that, they left a couple of chocolates with a note for her...THANK YOU!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the studio room, it worth the $$$ paid. Sofa can be converted to an extra bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
SChandra1,

I am really pleased to read your lovely review!!!

It's great that my colleague James could suprise you with a bottle of wine for your Birthday as a gesture and that my colleague in our Housekeeping team could be extra generous and give your daughter some extra cookies as she loved them so much!!

We do hope that you can stay with us again when you are next in London - make sure you check our website online for great deals this winter!

Kind regards,

Emily Abbam

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza County Hall London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza County Hall London

Address: 1 Addington Street, London SE1 7RY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in London
#32 Spa Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
#87 Luxury Hotel in London
#92 Family Hotel in London
#99 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza County Hall London 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza County Hall is conveniently located on the south side of the River Thames near Waterloo Station and is next to London's County Hall, home to several attractions, including the London Sea Life Aquarium. The hotel is within minutes of a number of local attractions, including the London Eye (walking distance), Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. Our London accommodation features modern guest rooms, six well-equipped meeting rooms with natural daylight, Restaurant & Bar, an Executive Lounge and a Fitness Centre. Choose Park Plaza County Hall and see what makes us one of the top London Waterloo hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza County Hall London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza County Hall London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Park Plaza County Hall London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza County Hall London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.