We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but Michael St Cathrin saved the day.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of London Tower Bridge Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added London Tower Bridge Apartments to your Saves list
London Tower Bridge Apartments
Queen Elizabeth Circle | PO Box 36608, London SE1 2JW, England (London Bridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #525 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ok but Michael St Cathrin saved the day.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked on the net fron New Zealand and what we got was completely diffrent from what was advertised.
Our apartment was around the corner from the advertised apartments we thought we had booked.
We thought we had a lift to the floor we were on.There was no lift.
The rooms were very very noisy with the main road traffic right outside the window.
The beds were not queen sized as advertised.
The toilet was loose on its mounting and nearly fell over one or two times.
It was boiling hot and had no fan or AC to cool or create some air flow so we had to sleep with the windows open or we would have all died from heat exhaustion.
My family and I stayed three nights and only got to sleep after 2 or 3 am due to the noise from the trucks and buses passing by every 15 mins or so.

One the good side the flat was clean and had a pretty new kitchen.
The location was top notch and 5mins walk from some excellent restaurants by the Thames.
Michael St Catherin the manager of a local high class car hire company pitched in and tried very hard to overcome the problems for us and I give him full marks for effort and say many thanks to him personally or we would have wanted our money back and gone elsewhere.
He went over and above and I thank him for showing my son around the Astons and Ferraris he has.

The managment/owners are kiwis as we are and was I quite shocked at there poor managment of the place. You realy need to get your act together and look after your guests yourselves rather than relying on a poor chap from a local car hire company to help out and a cleaner that is like a ghost and is never available on the phone or by any other means.
You may own a lot of hotels and resorts but you have no idea how to run the place we stayed in.

You really owe Michal a lot.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne C, Reservations Manager at London Tower Bridge Apartments, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Mr Wheller,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at London Tower Bridge Apartments. We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

A major contributor was most certainly the heat. At that time we were experiencing a heat wave in London, in fact the hottest in seven years. Most London hotels do not have air conditioning and we apologize for this. People open windows to get cool air but as you point out London traffic density and noise on the streets is a lot greater than in New-Zealand.

While the apartment could not be accessed by lift it should be noted that it is on the first floor and very close to the door from a short flight of stairs to the foyer. This allows excellent access and as you mentioned the apartment itself is very well located. All bags were carried to the apartment by our staff.

As stated on our website most of our apartments are located at the Circle in Queen Elizabeth Street but we also have apartments which are located in very close proximity, within only a few metres from the Circle. All check-ins are processed from the Circle reception.

The toilet did have a loose bolt at the base. Please accept our apologies for this. We noticed it after you had left and was fixed it immediately.

The bathroom and kitchen in the apartment are new and are of a very high standard as noted by yourself. There is a Queen size bed in the main bedroom and a double and twin beds in the second bedroom.

Thank you for your high praises for Michael. Michael is responsible for some check-ins, movement of luggage and guests briefing. He does go through great length to assist our guests and as you pointed out is a great asset to London Tower Bridge Apartments. The manager is only a phone call away and apart from topping up the tea and coffee and providing more towels they received no other comments regarding your stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to review London Tower Bridge Apartments and for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Corinne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
3
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whyalla, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The location of the apartments is very good, not to far from two undergrounds. It is a little deceiving when you arrive at the reception to be taken to another building around the corner. We stayed in a 2 BR apartment. The apartment was clean and fairly modern. Only complaints we really had was the showers; 1 didn't have much pressure and the other one burnt the girls a couple of times; also the washing machine didn't seem to like doing cold washes even though it was programmed for a cold wash. WIFI had an intermittent signal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

First impressions suggest a modern apartment block with all amenities - don't be deceived by the luxury apartment block. the actual apartments used by this company within the Circle are the pits

It was filthy with heavy stained carpets, furniture and marks on walls that left the impression of not being cleaned in months. The floors suggested they had not seen a hoover in weeks and there was an infestation of ants. The "hotline" to the Manager was never answered and messages never replied too.
The concierge in the Circle is not employed by the apartment owners and wont help

The advertised two bathrooms turned out to be one and water was by way of a boiler - once a bath had been run you had to wait 30mins for more hot water hard work when there are 5 of you

Overall it completely ruined a special 21st Birthday weekend

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with a few girlfriends, and the apartment was clean and perfectly adequate for what we needed. There were some things that needed repairing e.g. Shelf inthe hallways and a couple of drawers. But you can't really complain when the price is cheap.

The locatiin wasn't where it is described as being. It is on Lafone street - not actually in the circle.

If your looking for a cheap, weekend away, it's perfect. There are far too many rules for anything more- in fact the rules layed out on the coffee table, almost make you too scared to open A bottle of wine.

Summary- good place to good your head down but far from fancy.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here with a group of girlfriends and would definitely recommend it and come back again.
The apartment was light, modern and spacious with all the facilities required for our stay over a long weekend.
It is a great location to explore central London and next door to the fabulous South Bank (Borough Market, Tate Modern, London Eye...).
The staff both on email/web site and on-site were very helpful and offered us also a very flexible check-in as we were a group of girls arriving from various corners of Europe for our annual get together. Thanks a lot - we will be back :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My sister & I, both in our 60's, stay in a twin bedroom apartment for a week. Yes the apartment is 2 streets from the Circle but this certainly is not a problem. The apartment was excellent - very modern & very clean. It had everything a fully self-contained apartment should have - the hot water never ran out!! The apartment is half a minute walk to the bus, the Tower Bridge tube would be a 10 minute walk, which is a wonderful walk over the Tower Bridge. Restaurants, pubs & shops are @ your finger tips. Fernanda, who greeded us with a lovely smile is available 24/7 if help is required. We booked through the web site & we were dealing with Corinne Coffey. She was so helpful & always answered every question we put to her regarding the apartment. Corinne gave us the confidence to book the London Towers & what a lovely week we had. Thinking of staying anywhere else, your are crazy!!! Apartment 2/14 Lofone Street was the best. 2 very happy sisters.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Besancon, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We would like to recommend that place because we really loved it ! We stayed in a one-bedroom apartement, wich was perfect for our family (2 kids). The kitchen was very well equipped with ustensils for everyday cooking and washing and the apartment was modern, clean and light. The location was great with everything on the doorstep, groceries and shops just around the corner, plenty of cafes pubs and restaurants, famous London attractions within walking distance... The manager who welcomed us was very friendly and helpful. The apartments were great value for money and I would definitely recommend them !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to London Tower Bridge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Tower Bridge Apartments

Address: Queen Elizabeth Circle | PO Box 36608, London SE1 2JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge , Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #525 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your London Tower Bridge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Tower Bridge Apartments Hotel London
London Hotel Bridge Apartments
London Tower Bridge Apartments England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Tower Bridge Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.