We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Untidy room, couldn't sleep” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sophia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sophia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sophia
A, 5 London Street, London W2 1HL, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,010 of 1,073 hotels in London
Lappeenranta, Southern Finland, Finland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Untidy room, couldn't sleep”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Location is very good if you are going to use Paddington railway station but if you are trying to sleep you can hear all of the announcements from that station inside your room!
Rooms were untidy, pillows were terrible, room smelled tobacco even though we wanted nonsmoking room. Shower and bathroom were untidy. Breakfast was just bread and cereals and instant coffee or tea.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    5
    6
    24
See reviews for
2
13
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We got a double room for £65 per night which is pretty cheap. The location is good (right near Paddington Station) but that's about it. The place is pretty run down, no lift, old carpet, broken toilet seat etc. We were woken in the middle of the night by someone shouting and swearing in the reception downstairs which continued for about 20 minutes. At least there were no bed bugs!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Can't believe we paid £80 for a twin room (we booked for a double but when we arrived a twin was all they had). Check-in was at 1pm, apparently. We showed up at 12.45, the door was locked. Two guys waiting inside let us in, we all waited until 1pm, finally I rang the bell again, heard someone shuffling around upstairs, no one came until 1.15. A key was thrust at us, the girl didn't know the WiFi password "you could try this" (it didn't work). Room very very worn, furniture old and worn, twin beds looked like children's beds and although I'm only small the bed was not comfortable and supportive. Kept awake all night by the cold breeze coming from the window that wouldn't shut and the noise from the bar below. Shower had hot water, but mouldy and didn't feel comfortable staying in there. No amenities - sugar and coffee plastic storage containers were empty (not that I would've touched them anyway). Went to pay on departure and were scolded for not paying on arrival (we had tried to, after putting bags in our room but no one at reception). We passed on breakfast. Dirty sheets and towels in the narrow hallways left there by house keeping (although I think it's the same girl who was doing reception when we showed up). Stairway is dodgy, handrail is barely holding on in places. They stored our luggage for free as our flight did not leave until the evening. The only thing it has going for it is it's proximity to London Paddington.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I'd like to add my voice to the other reviews - this is an awful hotel, not even worth the seemingly low £45 I was charged for a single room. The room was TINY, just big enough for a double bed and a small table. My room actually overlooked a tube platform, so the noise of the tannoy and the tubes was very loud, added to which you have the nearby casualty on Praed Street and the extremely thin walls. I got a booking through Booking.com but they should not be showing this hotel, - if there was ever a fire there it would be a death trap. Yes, of course, it is right by Paddington Station so it's very convenient, -that's what the one star is for.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Okay, it's not the ritz but the location is next to paddington station and near Hyde park. I've been staying there for business for a year and find it clean. Agreed, a few of the reception staff don't speak good English which can lead to some confusion so please call again before your journey to confirm booking details. 8/10 times i get one of the guys that have great English. I think they are Indian. They are all very friendly. Breakfast isn't great but for the room price o wouldn't expect anything decent really. . Suggest you go to raffles cafe on craven street.Numerous cafes and bars selling breakfast nearby. But, I've stayed there perhaps 20 times. I've had far more hassle in places costing more than twice the price (duke of Leinster) so stay with what I know. Although I rate the place for the price, this no elevator so can be hard walking up the narrow stairs and the rear rooms back onto a tube stop. But overall, I d recommend the place based on price.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

wow where to start...
we booked the hotel room over the phone for 2 nights, gave them our name and phone number and a credit card to hold our reservation, we were then told we were fine just to show up on the date.
upon arrival the front desk lady barely spoke english, she had no idea who we were or what room we were in, so she instructed us to wait in the lobby while she called her manager.
after about 15 minutes up front she came back and handed us a key to a room on the 3rd floor.
since there are no elevators and we had many bags my husband went up the stairs first while i waited in the lobby. he couldnt remember which room on that floor was our room, so started trying the doors, only to discover THE KEY OPENED ALL THE ROOMS ON THE FLOOR! as he went through a couple of the rooms, they were awful. so small we probably coudnt have even fit in there with our luggage.
also they were not clean, the carpet was gross, the sheets were gross.
needles to say, he came back downstairs and we told them we were not staying here.
we were worried they might charge our card (we were also told by another nearby hotel that they would) so we went as far as to cancel the debit card that we had given them
all in all we were in tears thinking we might have to stay in this dump, and i would highly recommend everyone to stay away from hotel sophia.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Absolute shambles! booked in advance agessss before new years gave them credit card number and our name and address and was told thats fine see you new years eve, rang again new years eve to tell them we were on our way and they turned around and said we have no recollection of your booking EVEN THOUGH THEY TOOK OUR CRED CARD DETAILS OVER THE PHONE! ruined our new years plans and staff were very rude, shouting and not even appologetic on the phone! be warned do not stay here!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sophia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sophia

Address: A, 5 London Street, London W2 1HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,010 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Sophia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia Hotel London
Hotel Sophia London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sophia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.